International Law

Member state reports on the implementation of the African Charter on the Rights and Welfare of the Child (ACRWC) into their domestic law; browsable by country. This organization also maintains a separate case law database on their site.

Amnesty International’s country reports can be valuable secondary sources for human rights research, as they frequently cite and describe domestic human rights laws and are updated frequently.

Provides citations to relevant domestic legislation on this topic enacted by UN member states.

Jurisdictional directory of materials related to ratification of human rights treaties.

National law profiles related to children’s rights for more than 180 countries. Note: the URL “crin.org,” without the word “home” and which included a prior version of this database, is now an archive.

Consists of rules that come from "a general practice accepted as law" and exist independent of treaty law. Customary IHL is of crucial importance in today’s armed conflicts because it fills gaps left by treaty law and so strengthens the protection offered to victims. (International Committee of the Red Cross)

The European Court of Human Rights, also known as the Strasbourg Court, is an international court of the Council of Europe which interprets the European Convention on Human Rights. The website provides access to information about cases, the court, law, documents, and a library of related resources.

Provides access to compare and collate language on key issues across 75,000+ provisions of around 1,000 peace agreements. Users can browse, search, compile and export the provisions of peace agreements. Language of Peace complements and builds on the UN Peacemaker database, which hosts full text documents of such agreements.

OHCHR (Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights) maintained database including documents for the Human Rights Council, its predecessor and their subsidiaries and parent organs.

This database provides access to works published by the Justice Initiative including reports, handbooks, briefing papers, legal and policy submissions, and fact sheets exploring and advocating on issues of human rights and justice.