International Law

Includes databases for this organization’s Universal Jurisdiction project, which documents the jurisdiction rules for war crimes for more than 100 countries.

Articles of War is a curated digital publication that offers a platform for timely analysis, debate and commentary around legal challenges arising from the contemporary battlefield.
The resource seeks to identify practical issues, provide clarity on the law, and bring operational perspectives into the U.S. and international discussions around the law of armed conflict.

The Case Law Database is a gateway to the jurisprudence of the ICTR (International Crime Tribunal for Rwanda), ICTY (International Crime Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia), and IRMCT (International Residual Mechanism for Criminal Tribunals) Appeals Chambers. It provides direct access to extracts of key judgements and decisions rendered by the ICTR, ICTY, and IRMCT Appeals Chambers since their inception, as well as to full-text versions of the corresponding appeal judgements and decisions.

The International Criminal Court Legal Tools database equips users with legal information, digests, reference tools and an application to work more effectively with core international crimes cases (involving war crimes, crimes against humanity or genocide).

How does law protect in war? (the "Online Casebook") is an academic platform adapted from the original reference Casebook authored by Marco Sassòli, Antoine Bouvier and Anne Quintin, and published by the ICRC. It is intended to support teaching of international humanitarian law (IHL) in universities in an interactive way, and based on contemporary practice. The Law section features a general outline presenting IHL in 14 chapters. It contains comprehensive bibliographic resources and links each theme to a range of related case studies and documents. The Practice section comprises 325 case studies and documents regrouped either by theme or by region, or by type of document. They allow practice-oriented learning of IHL rules and interactive discussions through series of questions. The Pedagogical Resources section provides useful advice on how to teach IHL, as well as 29 model course outlines and other useful resources. The A to Z section presents 418 notions linked to IHL, their legal sources, the case studies where they are addressed, as well as bibliographic resources to delve further into those notions. A search engine allows users to find rapidly the relevant pedagogical material they need on the platform. In 2014, a first version of the online platform was launched.

A comprehensive database on international crimes adjudicated by national, as well as international and internationalized courts. In addition to case law on international crimes, the website incorporates general background information about international crimes, scholarly as well as news articles, working papers (ICD Briefs) and relevant links to other useful databases/websites on this topic.
The database is not limited to the international crimes beyond dispute (genocide, war crimes, crimes against humanity and aggression), but also offers case law on crimes such as piracy, terrorism and torture.

A collection of relevant literature and case law from the International Nuremburg Principles Academy.