Research Guides: FAH216 Art in the Age of Spectacle: Selected Websites

WEBSITES

Art & Architecture Thesaurus Online
Search art keywords (eg "Baroque") to retrieve a quick historical overview of a concept.
Art History Resources/Baroque Art
Provides quick links to the top web resources on Baroque art in and outside of Italy. Contains links for well and lesser known artists as well as artistic movements.
Artcyclopedia - Artists by Movement/Baroque
A different way to search for artists - search for a movement (eg "Baroque"), and Artcyclopedia will tell you which artists were part of that movement.
Caravaggio: The Complete Works
Includes biography and the complete works of Caravaggio.
Discover Baroque Art "Museum With No Frontiers (MWNF) is an organisation whose ground-breaking and visionary program aims to establish a vast trans-national museum that presents works of art, architecture and archaeology in the context in which they were created. Inspired by the principle of organizing exhibitions without moving the works of art, MWNF is creating through modern technology an exciting new dimension to museums. The visitor is invited to experience a museum not only as a place to admire artifacts on display but also as a gateway to related works of art in other museums, relevant archaeological sites and monuments as well as to thematic visits."
Getty Research Portal
The Getty Research Institute is spearheading this international collaboration with libraries that are digitizing art history books, thereby making their resources accessible to a larger audience.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History/Baroque Rome
The Timeline of Art History presents the Met’s collection via a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history. It comprises 300 timelines, 930 essays, close to 7,000 objects, and a robust index, and is regularly updated and enriched to provide new scholarship and insights on the collection.
Khan Academy: Monarchy and Enlightenment/Baroque Art
Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom.
more...less...
A free multi-media web-book designed as a dynamic enhancement (or even substitute) for the traditional art history textbook. Dr. Beth Harris and Dr. Steven Zucker of Smarthistory together with leading art historians, and our museum partners have created hundreds of short engaging conversational videos and articles, making Khan Academy one of the most accessible and extensive resources for the study of the history of art.
Pigments Through the Ages/Renaissance and Baroque (1400-1600)
A great resource on the history of pigments.
The Rembrandt Database
The Rembrandt Database is an inter-institutional research resource for information and documentation on paintings by Rembrandt – or attributed to him, either now or in the past – in museums around the world.
UK National Gallery
The National Gallery houses the national collection of paintings in the Western European tradition from the 13th to the 19th centuries.