Research Guides: FAH216 Art in the Age of Spectacle: Finding Journal and Articles

Where to Start Your Searches

1. Use the Assignment tab to find your art on the Currier Art Museum Website

2. Search Grove Art Online for your artist.

If you don't have an artist, search for your medium/time period/country of origin

Grove Art Online [OXFORD] This link opens in a new window
Core reference source for fine arts. Searchable images made available through Oxford's partnerships with museums, galleries, and arts organizations.

3. Search the Currier Bulletins for your object.

NOTE: This may take some time. Read the "Description" and "Relation" information to learn what artifacts are discussed in that issue.

Currier Museum of Art Bulletins

4. Search JSTOR for your artist and object. (You may find that there aren't whole articles about your piece - that's okay!)

JSTOR [ITHAKA] This link opens in a new window
Core interdisciplinary research database. Full text access is limited to backfiles (generally on a 5 year rolling wall basis).
Use Interlibrary Loan to request access to current content.
**Library subscribes to JSTOR collections: I-VII, AAF pamphlets, Biological Sciences, and 43K+ monographic titles
All other titles can be accessed via Interlibrary Loan.

5. Search other databases for historical context, or more about your artist/piece. Here are a few suggestions:

Academic Search Premier [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database is an excellent starting point for finding scholarly journal articles and popular magazine articles on a wide range of topics.
ProQuest Central [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Core interdisciplinary database, contains full-text journal articles, newspaper articles, dissertations, and business and industry profiles.

Google Scholar
The Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Getty Research Portal
The Getty Research Institute is spearheading this international collaboration with libraries that are digitizing art history books, thereby making their resources accessible to a larger audience.

WorldCat Discovery [OCLC] This link opens in a new window
Discovery interface: search the collections of libraries worldwide, and request that items be delivered here via Interlibrary Loan for your use.

Database List

Grove Art Online [OXFORD] This link opens in a new window
Core reference source for fine arts. Searchable images made available through Oxford's partnerships with museums, galleries, and arts organizations.
JSTOR [ITHAKA] This link opens in a new window
Core interdisciplinary research database. Full text access is limited to backfiles (generally on a 5 year rolling wall basis).
Use Interlibrary Loan to request access to current content.
**Library subscribes to JSTOR collections: I-VII, AAF pamphlets, Biological Sciences, and 43K+ monographic titles
All other titles can be accessed via Interlibrary Loan.
WorldCat Discovery [OCLC] This link opens in a new window
Discovery interface: search the collections of libraries worldwide, and request that items be delivered here via Interlibrary Loan for your use.
Academic Search Premier [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database is an excellent starting point for finding scholarly journal articles and popular magazine articles on a wide range of topics.
ProQuest Central [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Core interdisciplinary database, contains full-text journal articles, newspaper articles, dissertations, and business and industry profiles.
Art Index Retrospective [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Citation and index database for over half a century (1929 -1984) of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art.
BHA & RILA This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA). These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007.
The Getty Web site offers both basic and advanced search modules for BHA and RILA, and they can be searched easily by subject, artist, author, article or journal title, and other elements.

About RILA and BHA
RILA covers the years 1975–1989. It was produced at the Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute, and Michael Rinehart was the editor-in-chief. In 1982, Getty began to support RILA, and in 1990 the Getty began to collaborate with INIST-CNRS to produce the BHA, which was a merger of RILA and the Répertoire d'art et d'archéologie.

A list of journals cited in BHA (PDF, 27pp., 308 KB) can be downloaded. BHA includes articles from over 1,200 journals. The link above leads to a list of names and ISSNs of each of those journals. BHA includes all articles within the subject scope of BHA regardless of the subject focus of a particular journal. Thus, many of the journals on this list are covered partially, as only some of their articles are within BHA's scope.
Fine Arts: Gale OneFile [GALE] This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and filmmaking, emphasizing full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.
Project MUSE - College Edition This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and article citations from over 100 journals, with a particular strength in literature, fine arts, history, and the humanities.
Historical Abstracts [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to journal articles and books covering world history from 1450 to the present (excluding North America).