Research Guides: FAH214: Italian Renaissance Art: Find Articles

Core Databases

Grove Art Online [OXFORD] This link opens in a new window
Core reference source for fine arts. Searchable images made available through Oxford's partnerships with museums, galleries, and arts organizations.
BHA & RILA This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA). These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007.
The Getty Web site offers both basic and advanced search modules for BHA and RILA, and they can be searched easily by subject, artist, author, article or journal title, and other elements.

About RILA and BHA
RILA covers the years 1975–1989. It was produced at the Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute, and Michael Rinehart was the editor-in-chief. In 1982, Getty began to support RILA, and in 1990 the Getty began to collaborate with INIST-CNRS to produce the BHA, which was a merger of RILA and the Répertoire d'art et d'archéologie.

A list of journals cited in BHA (PDF, 27pp., 308 KB) can be downloaded. BHA includes articles from over 1,200 journals. The link above leads to a list of names and ISSNs of each of those journals. BHA includes all articles within the subject scope of BHA regardless of the subject focus of a particular journal. Thus, many of the journals on this list are covered partially, as only some of their articles are within BHA's scope.
Academic Search Premier [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database is an excellent starting point for finding scholarly journal articles and popular magazine articles on a wide range of topics.
JSTOR [ITHAKA] This link opens in a new window
Core interdisciplinary research database. Full text access is limited to backfiles (generally on a 5 year rolling wall basis).
Use Interlibrary Loan to request access to current content.
**Library subscribes to JSTOR collections: I-VII, AAF pamphlets, Biological Sciences, and 43K+ monographic titles
All other titles can be accessed via Interlibrary Loan.
ProQuest Central [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Core interdisciplinary database, contains full-text journal articles, newspaper articles, dissertations, and business and industry profiles.

Additional Databases

America: History and Life [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Locate abstracts to journal articles and books focusing on United States and Canadian history and culture.
Historical Abstracts [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to journal articles and books covering world history from 1450 to the present (excluding North America).
International Medieval Bibliography | **ONE USER AT A TIME** This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly journals and conference proceedings in the interdisciplinary field of medieval studies.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance [UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO] This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographical information pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance.
The library subscribes to two databases:

Iter Bibliography comprises secondary source material pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books and journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for dissertation abstracts and essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).

Iter Italicum is the online edition of Paul Oskar Kristeller's six-volume set, the most comprehensive finding list available of previously uncatalogued or incompletely catalogued Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections all over the world.
New York Times-Historical with Index [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Full-text/PDF access to the New York Times, from 1851 to four years ago via ProQuest.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times.
Coverage: 1851-4 years ago
Project MUSE - College Edition This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and article citations from over 100 journals, with a particular strength in literature, fine arts, history, and the humanities.
Times Digital Archive [GALE] This link opens in a new window
Digital full-text access to every issue of The Times (London) newspaper from 1785 through 2014, except for Sunday editions (which are available through the Sunday Times Digital Archive).
First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.

Get Full-Text of Articles

If the full text of an article is not available in the database, here are tips for getting it elsewhere:

In the databases, click to see if the full text is:
- in another database,
- in Geisel Library's collection,
- or if you can request a copy via Interlibrary Loan.
Search the journal's name in Journal Finder to see if we have access to the year/volume/issue you need.
For more help, ask a librarian or see the FAQ on finding full text:

How do I get the full text of an article?

Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History

Created by the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History pairs essays and works of art with chronologies, telling the story of art and global culture through the Museum’s collection. It is an excellent resource to use to find relevant and helpful essays about your topics regarding Renaissance Italian sculpture, paintings, woodcuts, and more.

The Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History

Database Help

Stuck in a particular database? Not sure how to find articles or save them? How to best use it? Take a look through our Database Tutorials for extra help and hints:

Grove Art Online Tutorial
Tutorial on different aspects of using this database.
JSTOR Tutorial
Tutorial on different aspects of using this database.
ProQuest Central Tutorial
Tutorial on different aspects of using this database.
Academic Search Premier Tutorial
Tutorial on different aspects of using this database.