Research Guides: FAH214: Italian Renaissance Art: Find Images

Primary Image Database -- ARTstor

Connect to Artstor, a unique database that provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. These images can be printed for use in your paper, or included in PowerPoint demonstrations. Review the tutorial below, or ask a Reference Librarian if you require assistance using Artstor.

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Database of over one million downloadable digital images and associated descriptive data, including images from the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, and photography.

Digital Museum Collections

Currier Art Museum
The Currier, located in downtown Manchester NH, features European and American paintings, decorative arts, photographs and sculpture.
Isabella Stuart Gardner Museum
Located in Boston, MA, the home of Isabella Stuart Gardner is filled with her collected artwork, paintings, and statues, as well as the architecture of the building itself, including a courtyard garden.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art
The Met presents over 5,000 years of art from around the world for everyone to experience and enjoy. Since it was founded in 1870, The Met has always aspired to be more than a treasury of rare and beautiful objects. Every day, art comes alive in the Museum's galleries and through its exhibitions and events, revealing both new ideas and unexpected connections across time and across cultures.
Museum of Fine Art
Today the MFA is one of the most comprehensive art museums in the world; the collection encompasses nearly 500,000 works of art. We welcome more than one million visitors each year to experience art from ancient Egyptian to contemporary, special exhibitions, and innovative educational programs.
The National Gallery (London)
The premier art gallery of England, the National Gallery opened in 1824 in the home of its original collector: John Julius Angerstein. Since then, it has grown exponentially and is a valuable site for all kinds of artwork.
The National Gallery of Art (Washington, DC)
The National Gallery of Art was conceived and given to the people of the United States by Andrew W. Mellon. When the National Gallery of Art opened to the public, the nucleus of its world-class collection consisted of 126 paintings and 26 sculptures. By the time of the museum’s 25th anniversary in 1966, 114 exhibition galleries were filled with great works of art.
National Museum of Women in the Arts
The National Museum of Women in the Arts (NMWA) is the only major museum in the world solely dedicated to championing women through the arts. With its collections, exhibitions, programs, and online content, the museum seeks to inspire dynamic exchanges about art and ideas.
Vatican Museums
Consisting of a group of 26 museums, the Vatican Museums hold millions of artifacts from all over Europe and the world with unrivaled collections.They also have a searchable online catalog you can use.

Other Databases with Digital Images

Use to: locate images from popular magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals.
To search for images: hover over the word "More" in the blue bar at top of the screen, then select "Images" from the drop-down menu. Images are searchable by keyword; search limiters regarding image type (i.e. diagram, map, color photography) are also available. From the search results screen you will need to click on the thumbnails to view larger images and right-click on the image to download.

Other Databases with Images:

Academic Search Premier [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database is an excellent starting point for finding scholarly journal articles and popular magazine articles on a wide range of topics.
Credo Reference [INFOBASE] This link opens in a new window
Online reference database enables simultaneous searching of 100 scholarly reference works, across all areas of study.
eBooks [GALE] This link opens in a new window
Core electronic reference collection, this collection of online subject encyclopedias provides in-depth articles on a wide range of topics, with an emphasis on the social sciences.
Grove Art Online [OXFORD] This link opens in a new window
Core reference source for fine arts. Searchable images made available through Oxford's partnerships with museums, galleries, and arts organizations.

Image Resources on the Web

Artcyclopedia
Provides links to over 180,000 art images maintained on over 2,000 art websites (including many museums and collections from around the world). Search by artist, title, or museum.
Bing Images Search
Search for images on the Internet through Bing's image search. Use Bing's limiters and related search features to refine your image search.
Galaxy of Images (Smithsonian Libraries)
Search through images found in the Smithsonian Institution Libraries' book and manuscript collection. To locate images, search by keyword or browse by subject area.
Getty Images
Tools to help you find that perfect image or clip.
Google Arts and Culture
Explore collections of art and manuscripts from around the world, created by Google Cultural Institute.
Google Images
Search for photographs, illustrations, and artworks from across the Internet, using Google's well-known keyword search engine.
HOLLIS Images (formerly VIA)
A catalog of visual resources at Harvard, focusing on artistic and cultural materials.
Web Gallery of Art
The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture from 11th to mid-19th centuries.
Yale Digital Content
Cross Collection Discovery (CCD) provides a way to search across Yale's collections of art, natural history, books, and maps, as well as photos, audio, and video documenting people, places, and events.