Skip to Main Content Library Homepage College Homepage
Research Guides

FAH214: Italian Renaissance Art: Writing and Citing

CITE RIGHT!

Please use  Chicago Manual of Style  Notes and Bibliography (NB)

READ AND WATCH!


OTHER VIDEOS:
How to Format your Paper http://youtu.be/w_MURP3_MrU
How to Cite Multiple Authors http://youtu.be/sh2z4UpopM8 
How to Cite Books http://youtu.be/4_LIIFEZNxE
How to Cite eBooks http://youtu.be/9WfPuPk1Ff4
How to Cite Journal Articles http://youtu.be/_eMusO5PCFQ
How to Cite Newspapers & Magazines http://youtu.be/IXOLJ2GWuQI
How to Cite Websites http://youtu.be/sLI68R87VhI

EXAMPLES

Image from a library subscription database:

Notes: Eugene Hoshiko, "China Rain," photograph, 1999, AP Images, ID99062401980.

Bib: Hoshiko, Eugene. "China Rain." Photograph. 1999. AP Images, ID99062401980.

 

Image from an online database:

Notes: Currier & Ives, "Gray Eagle," lithograph, ca. 1866, Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog, http://www.loc.gov/pictures/item/2006676682/ (accessed September 25, 2010).

Bib: Currier & Ives. "Gray Eagle." Lithograph. ca. 1866. Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog, http://www.loc.gov/pictures/item/2006676682/ (accessed September 25, 2010).

 

Image from a website:

Notes: David Wilma, "El Centro de la Raza, Beacon Hill, Seattle," photograph, 2001, HistoryLink.org, http://www.historylink.org/index.cfm?DisplayPage=output.cfm&file_id=9186 (accessed September 25, 2010).

Bib: Wilma, David. "El Centro de la Raza, Beacon Hill, Seattle." Photograph. 2001. HistoryLink.org, http://www.historylink.org/index.cfm?DisplayPage=output.cfm&file_id=9186 (accessed September 25, 2010).

 

MORE EXAMPLES ...

Art Works CMoS BIBLIOGRAPHY

Works of art reproduced in a printed source (treat as book chapter)

Artist’s last name, first name. "Title of art work," medium, date
          of art work (Institution where art work is housed (if known),
          city where housed if not already named). In Title of printed 
          source italicized, by Author of printed source, page or
          plate/figure/slide number. Place of publication: publisher, date.

example: 

Cassatt, Mary. "Mother and Child," oil on canvas, c.1890 (Wichita Art
           Museum). In American Painting: 1560-1913, by John Pearce,
           slide 22. New York: McGraw, 1964.

 

Works of art reproduced in electronic source

Artist’s last name, first name. Title of art work,  medium, date of art
          work (Institution where art work is housed (if known), city
          where housed if not already named). URL.

 

example: 

Monet, Claude. Meadow with Haystacks at Giverny, oil on canvas,
          1885 (Museum of Fine Arts, Boston). http://www.artstor.org.

Website citations are omitted in the Bibliography!


 

. . .

You can borrow this guide at the Geisel Library reference desk.  The print guide includes examples for more specific or unusual types of sources than the online guides listed above.

Avoiding Plagiarism

Walk through this tutorial to get a better understanding of what actions are considered plagiarism, and learn practical tips for how to avoid committing plagiarism.

EndNote

This software program allows you to import citations from our research databases and then easily create in-text citations and bibliographies in your research papers, in the style of your choosing (MLA, APA, Turabian, etc.).

To obtain a copy of EndNote on CD (for either PC or Mac), contact the IT Help Desk located in Geisel Library.

For help with EndNote features, see our User's Guides for EndNote (desktop version) and EndNote Online.