Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Homepage College Homepage
Research Guides

PO203 Research Methods - Lucas: Articles

Core Databases

Additional Related Databases

Also check out our full A-Z list of databases.

Search for Journals
 



Google Scholar Search
Search for books, articles, and more!

What is WebBridge?

You will see a WebBridge button button when a pdf or html link does not accompany an article. WebBridge button lets you know if the full-text is available:

  • in another database
  • in Geisel Library's print journal collection
  • if you can request a copy via Interlibrary Loan

What are permalinks?

A permalink is a web address that will consistently point to a specific information source such as an ebook, an article, a record in the catalog, a video, or a database. 

permalink may also be called a stable link, durable link, persistent link, permanent link or document url, depending on the resource.

How do I find permalinks?

Most research databases include a permalink in the article record.  The terms used and the location of these links in the record vary from one database to another.

Where are the Permalinks in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts?

Permalinks for ProQuest articles are called Document URLs.

The document URL is found in the Indexing Details section located at the end of an article.

 

What is a scholarly article?

The purpose of scholarship is to expand human knowledge. Scholars conduct research in their fields in order to add to or clarify what is already known about a particular topic. They then publish their research findings in peer-reviewed journals. Once published the article adds value, context, and perspective to the existing literature on the topic in order to build upon the world's collective knowledge.

What is peer-review?

Peer-review is a term that refers to a process that determines the quality of scholarship. Scholars submit their research articles to peer-reviewed journals. The editors of the journals forward the articles to several "peers" (other scholars in the field) to review. The peers look at what (the results), how (the research methods), and why (the topic) the scholar researched the topic in order to determine if the article should be added to the literature of knowledge in the field. This process ensures that published research is accurate, valid, and reliable.

The terms peer-reviewed, scholarly, academic, and research are often used interchangeably to refer to all articles that have undergone this quality review.

How can you tell if an article is scholarly?

Evaluate the following features of the article. If it meets ALL of these criteria then it is considered scholarly.

  1. Authors of scholarly articles are researchers, academics, and scholars within the field. The article should not only identify the author, but also the college, university, or research organization with which the author is associated.
  2. Publishers of peer-reviewed journals in which scholarly articles are published are universities, research institutes, scholarly presses and professional organizations. If you are unsure, Google the publisher's name and see what type of material they publish.
  3. Scholarly articles ALWAYS include sources. Look for footnotes, endnotes, references, or bibliographies. If there are no sources cited in the article then it is not scholarly.
  4. The language used in scholarly articles generally consists of college-level writing and vocabulary. Articles are written for fellow scholars in the field and for college students and often includes vocabulary special to the given field.
  5. The purpose of scholarly articles is to report original qualitative or quantitative research, case studies, or in-depth analysis of topics. The articles themselves are lengthy, and generally present information with statistics, charts, graphs, and tables. Advertisements of any kind are very rare.