Provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA). These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007.
The Getty Web site offers both basic and advanced search modules for BHA and RILA, and they can be searched easily by subject, artist, author, article or journal title, and other elements.
About RILA and BHA
RILA covers the years 1975–1989. It was produced at the Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute, and Michael Rinehart was the editor-in-chief. In 1982, Getty began to support RILA, and in 1990 the Getty began to collaborate with INIST-CNRS to produce the BHA, which was a merger of RILA and the Répertoire d'art et d'archéologie.
A list of journals cited in BHA (PDF, 27pp., 308 KB) can be downloaded. BHA includes articles from over 1,200 journals. The link above leads to a list of names and ISSNs of each of those journals. BHA includes all articles within the subject scope of BHA regardless of the subject focus of a particular journal. Thus, many of the journals on this list are covered partially, as only some of their articles are within BHA's scope.
Use to find scholarly publications, including peer-reviewed papers, books, journal articles, and government reports. Use this entry point to link Google Scholar search results to Geisel Library collections (look for the WebBridge link to access full text or to place an Interlibrary Loan request).
Google Cultural Institute: Art Project
Google has partnered with hundreds of museums, cultural institutions, and archives to host the world’s cultural treasures online.
Museums large and small, classic and modern, world-renowned and community-based from over 40 countries have contributed more than 40,000 high-resolution images of works ranging from oil on canvas to sculpture and furniture. Some paintings are available in ‘gigapixel’ format, allowing you to zoom in at brushstroke level to examine incredible detail.
This multi-disciplinary database is an excellent starting point for finding scholarly journal articles and popular magazine articles on a wide range of topics.
Core interdisciplinary research database. Full text access is limited to backfiles (generally on a 5 year rolling wall basis).
Use Interlibrary Loan to request access to current content.
**Library subscribes to JSTOR collections: I-VII, AAF pamphlets, Biological Sciences, and 43K+ monographic titles
All other titles can be accessed via Interlibrary Loan.
Digital full-text access to every issue of The Times (London) newspaper from 1785 through 2014, except for Sunday editions (which are available through the Sunday Times Digital Archive).
First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.
Journal Subscriptions
Click on the following links to see journal subscription titles:
to see if the full text is: