Artcyclopedia
Provides links to over 180,000 art images maintained on over 2,000 art websites (including many museums and collections from around the world). Search by artist, title, or museum.
Galaxy of Images (Smithsonian Institution)
Search through images found in the Smithsonian Institution Libraries' book and manuscript collection. To locate images, search by keyword or browse by subject area.
Getty Images
Tools to help you find that perfect image or clip.
Google Art Project
Explore 360 degree views of museums from around the world, and view examples of super-high resolution images of art in their collections.
Google Image Search
Search for photographs, illustrations, and artworks from across the Internet, using Google's well-known keyword search engine.
National Gallery of Art / NGA Images
More than 20,000 open access digital images up to 3000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use.
SPIRO
The online catalog and image database of the Architecture Visual Resources Library of the University of California, Berkeley.
Visual Information Access (VIA)
A catalog of visual resources at Harvard, focusing on artistic and cultural materials.
Web Gallery of Art
The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture from 11th to mid-19th centuries.
Yale Digital Content
Cross Collection Discovery (CCD) provides a way to search across Yale's collections of art, natural history, books, and maps, as well as photos, audio, and video documenting people, places, and events.
To help support a fair use case for an image:
In addition to fair use, consider Using images that are openly available for reuse.
Connect to Artstor, a unique database that provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. These images can be printed for use in your paper, or included in PowerPoint demonstrations. Review the tutorial below, or .
Academic Search Premier
Use to: locate images from popular magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals.
To search for images: hover over the word "More" in the blue bar at top of the screen, then select "Images" from the drop-down menu. Images are searchable by keyword; search limiters regarding image type (i.e. diagram, map, color photography) are also available. From the search results screen you will need to click on the thumbnails to view larger images and right-click on the image to download.
Other Databases with Images:
Core reference source for fine arts. Searchable images made available through Oxford's partnerships with museums, galleries, and arts organizations.
