Research Guides: Citing Sources: Notes / Bibliography

Overview

The Notes / Bibliography method employs superscript numbers within the text to direct the reader to a shortened reference (N) in a numbered footnote at the bottom of the page. Those footnotes then correspond to a full reference (B) in a bibliography at the end of the paper.

First, you indicate that you are using a source (whether in direct quote or paraphrase) by placing a superscript number at the end of the sentence. For example an in-text citation would look like:

As Strang points out, the "settlers' first priority when they acquired new land was to bring it under technological control."¹

The superscript number after the ending quotation mark corresponds to a footnote (N) at the bottom of the page. The Footnote for this citation is formatted like:

#. Author's Full Name, Title: And Subtitle (Publisher, Year of Publication), page number(s).

(N) 1. Veronica Strang, Uncommon Ground: Cultural Landscapes and Environmental Values (Berg, 1997), 50.

If you cite the same source again, you can shorten the note.

(N) 2. Strang, Uncommon Ground, 75.

You will also include this source in a bibliography (B) entry in alphabetical order in a Bibliography at the end of the paper. This entry takes a slightly different form from the Notes. *Be sure to use hanging indentation when formatting your Bibliography page.

(B) Author's Last Name, First Name and Initials. Title: And Subtitle. Publisher, Year of Publication.

(B) Strang, Veronica. Uncommon Ground: Cultural Landscapes and Environmental Values. Berg, 1997.

This is the basic setup for how you use the Notes / Bibliography method of citations. Scroll down for examples of how to specifically cite some of the most common materials used for research.

How to Format Cited Sources

Basic Format

(N) 1. Author's First and Last Name, "Title of the Article: And Subtitle," Title of the Journal Volume number, issue no. (year of publication): page of citation. URL/DOI.

(B)

Journal Articles & Magazines

(N) 1. Tricia Uy and Christian Dimaano, “Lessons Learned from ‘The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down’: Student Perspectives on How Cultural Differences Can Lead to Health Disparities,” Health Education Journal 79, no.1 (2008): 75. https://doi-org.geisel.idm.oclc.org/10.1525/maq.2003.17.2.159.

(B) Uy, Tricia, and Christian Dimaano. “Lessons Learned from ‘The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down’: Student Perspectives on How Cultural Differences Can Lead to Health Disparities.” Health Education Journal 79, no.1 (2008): 73–81. https://doi-org.geisel.idm.oclc.org/10.1525/maq.2003.17.2.159.

NOTE

Pay close attention to punctuation. Notes tend to use commas, while Bibliographies use periods.
If you found the article in print, you don't need the URL/DOI. Though, if there is one it can be useful to include so others may find your sources. Check with your instructor on whether or not they want you to make the URL/DOI and active link or remain text only.
For more than one author, follow the pattern for authors' names for books.

Newspapers and News Sites

(N) 1. Eli Tan, "At the Intersection of A.I. and Spirituality," New York Times, January 3, 2025, https://www.nytimes.com/2025/01/03/technology/ai-religious-leaders.html.

(B) 1. Tan, Eli. "At the Intersection of A.I. and Spirituality." New York Times, January 3, 2025. https://www.nytimes.com/2025/01/03/technology/ai-religious-leaders.html.

NOTE

If applicable, include the newspaper's edition (e.g. Final Edition, or Eastern Edition) in the Bibliography.
If the paper is published in several sections, the section number (e.g. sec. 1) or the section title (e.g. Opinion) may be added.
If you cite an article that you found online, be sure to include the URL or DOI. If neither are available, include the name of the library Database.

Basic Format

(N) #. Author's First and Last Name, Title of the Book: And Subtitle (Publisher's Name, Date of Publication), page number.

(B) Author's Lastname, Firstname. Title of the Book: And Subtitle. Publisher's Name, Date of Publication.

NOTE: In the Footnote, indent the first line. In the Bibliography, indent the second and subsequent lines.

Book - One Author or Editor

(N) 1. Zora Neale Hurston, Their Eyes Were Watching God (1937; repr., Harper and Row, 1990), 83.

(B) Hurston, Zora Neale. Their Eyes Were Watching God. 1937. Reprint, Harper and Row, 1990.

Book - One Translator

(N) 1. Michelangelo Buonarroti, The Complete Poems of Michelangelo, trans. John Frederick Nims (University of Chicago Press 1998), 104.

(B) Buonarroti, Michelangelo. The Complete Poems of Michelangelo. Translated by John Frederick Nims. University of Chicago Press, 1998.

Book - Two or Three Authors or Editors

(N) 2. Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows, My Lady Jane (HarperCollins, 2016), 95.

(B) Hand, Cynthia, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows. My Lady Jane. HarperCollins, 2016.

(N) 3. Enrique Laraña, Hank Johnston, and Joseph R. Gusfield, eds. New Social Movements: From Ideology to Identity (Temple University Press, 1994), 128.

(B) Laraña, Enrique, Hank Johnston, and Joseph R. Gusfield, eds. New Social Movements: From Ideology to Identity. Temple University Press, 1994.

In a note that cites a book with more than two authors or editors, list only the first author or editor, followed by “et al.” (Latin for “and others”). In the bibliography, list up to six authors; if there are more than six, list only the first three, followed by “et al.”

Chapter in an Edited Book

(N) 3. Émile Durkheim, "Rules for the Explanation of Social Facts," in High Points in Anthropology, 2nd ed., eds. Paul Bohannan and Mark Glazer (McGraw Hill, 1988), 235.

(B) Durkheim, Émile. "Rules for the Explanation of Social Facts." In High Points in Anthropology, 2nd ed., edited by Paul Bohannan and Mark Glazer. McGraw Hill, 1988.

For books that you read online, add the URL or DOI after the Date. End with a period.

Basic Format

(N) #. Author's First and Last Name, "Title of the Page," Title or description of the site, Owner of the site, publication/time stamp/accessed date, URL.

(B) #. Author Lastname, Firstname. "Title of the Page." Title or description of the site. Owner of the site. Publication/time stamp/accessed date. URL/DOI.

NOTE

Identify the "Title of the page", the author, title or description of the site, the owner of the site (if not already in the title), and the publication date, and the URL.
If the page is one that is frequently updated, include a time stamp if one is available. If you can't find a date, include and access date.
You can start the note with the author's name, or if there isn't a clear individual author, you can start with the title of the page.
Website content should only be cited in Notes - include it in the bibliography only if it is cited frequently and vital to your argument.

Websites

(N) 1. Becky Little, "Native Americans Weren't Guaranteed the Right to Vote in Every State Until 1962," History Stories, A&E Television Networks, updated August 20, 2019, https://www.history.com/news/native-american-voting-rights-citizenship.

(B) Little, Becky. "Native Americans Weren't Guaranteed the Right to Vote in Every State Until 1962." History Stories, A&E Television Networks, updated August 20, 2019. https://www.history.com/news/native-american-voting-rights-citizenship.

Blogs

(N) 2. Kate Swenson, "Advice for the Special Needs Parent on Halloween," Finding Cooper's Voice: The Secret World of Autism (blog), November 4, 2020, https://www.findingcoopersvoice.com/2020/11/04/advice-for-the-special-needs-parent-on-halloween/.

(B) 2. Swenson, Kate. "Advise for the Special Needs Parent on Halloween." Finding Cooper's Voice: The Secret World of Autism (blog), November 4, 2020. https://www.findingcoopersvoice.com/2020/11/04/advice-for-the-special-needs-parent-on-halloween/.

NOTE

Blog posts can be cited much like articles in a newspaper or magazine.
Italicize the Blog Title.
Include (blog) at the end of the Blog title if it isn't clear that it is a blog.
Blog content should usually only be cited in Notes - include it in the bibliography only if it is cited frequently and vital to your argument. If you cite multiple entries from a blog, that would also be a reason to cite the whole blog in the bibliography.

Social Media

(N) 3. Geisel Library at Saint Anselm College, "Your third Research Trick-or-Treat of the week helps you find results that have a specific phrase!," Facebook, October 29, 2020, https://www.facebook.com/173252109443922/posts/2788507201251720/.

(B) 3. Geisel Library at Saint Anselm College. "Your third Research Trick-or-Treat of the week helps you find results that have a specific phrase!" Facebook. October 29, 2020. https://www.facebook.com/173252109443922/posts/2788507201251720/.

(N) 4. Conan O'Brien (@ConanOBrien), "Let's not be too judgmental, who among us hasn't said something stupid and embarrassing at 2am?," Twitter, November 4, 2020, 3:13 p.m., https://twitter.com/ConanOBrien/status/1324082312695468033.

(B) 4. O'Brien, Conan (@ ConanOBrien), Let's not be too judgmental, who among us hasn't said something stupid and embarrassing at 2am?" Twitter. November 4, 2020, 3:13 p.m. https://twitter.com/ConanOBrien/status/1324082312695468033.

NOTE

Like Web pages and blogs, in most instances Social Media can be cited in text, or within Notes. Only include an entry in the bibliography if it is cited frequently or critical to your discussion.
For the Author's Name, if the real name is know, use that along with the screen name. Otherwise you can use just the screen name.
If you quoted the post within the text, you do not need to include any of it in the Note.

Art Work

According to Chicago, information about paintings, photos, and sculptures can often be presented within the text. However, if a Note or Bibliography entry is required, It should include: Artist, Title of Work, date of creation, information about the medium and/or dimensions, location of the work, and for some the URL/DOI. Turabian suggests that paintings, sculptures, photographs, drawings and etc. should only be cited in Notes.

*Consult with your instructor if they require Notes, Bibliography entry, or both for works of art, photos, and graphics. Then choose from the formats below. The information that is included will depend on what information is available and what information is most relevant to your citation.

Work of art seen in person

General Format

(N) #. Artist First and Last Name, Title of Work, date of creation, information about the medium and/or dimensions, location of the work.

(B) Artist Last Name, First Name. Title of the Work. Date of creation. Information about the medium, dimensions. Location of the work.

Example

(N) 3. Fredrick Wilson, Good Shephard with Landscape,1909, stained-glass window, 40.5 x 28 in., New-York Historical Society Museum & Library.

(B) Wilson, Frederick. Good Shephard with Landscape. 1909. Stained-glass window, 40.5 x 28 in. New-York Historical Society Museum & Library.

Works of art reproduced in a printed source (treat as book chapter)

General Format

(N) #. Author's First and Last name, "Title of the Work," date of creation, medium and dimensions, (Institution where art is housed (if known), city where housed if not already named), in Title of the Source: And Subtitle, by Author of printed/online source (Place of Publication: Publisher, Date), location of art in source.

(B) Artist’s Last Name, First Name. "Title of art work," date of art work, medium and/or dimensions, (Institution where art work is housed (if known), city where housed if not already named). In Title of Source: And Subtitle, by Author of printed source. Place of publication: publisher, date. Page or plate/figure/slide number.

Example

(N) 1. Mary Cassatt, "Mother and Child," c.1890, oil on canvas, (Wichita Art Museum), in American Painting: 1560-1913, by John Pearce (New York: McGraw, 1964), slide 22.

(B) Cassatt, Mary. "Mother and Child." c.1890. Oil on Canvas. (Wichita Art Museum). In American Painting: 1560-1913, by John Pearce. New York: McGraw, 1964. Slide 22.

Works of art reproduced in electronic source

General Format
(N) #. Artist’s First and Last Name, Title of art work, date of art work, medium, (Institution where art work is housed (if known), city where housed if not already named). URL/DOI.

Example

(N) 2. Claude Monet, Meadow with Haystacks at Giverny, 1885, oil on canvas (Museum of Fine A Boston). http://www.artstor.org.

(B) Monet, Claude. Meadow with Haystacks at Giverny, 1885. Oil on canvas. Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. http://www.artstor.org.

Audio and Audiovisual Material

There is no one "right way" to cite audio and audiovisual materials. The information included and prioritized in recording citations depends on the information available, the medium in which it is transmitted, and the relevance of the contributors/pieces of the material. Refer to the Chicago manual, Turabian manual, or Purdue Owl for a more specific breakdown of what to cite in different circumstances.

Song on a CD

General Format

(N) #. First Name and Last name of artist/composer/writer, "Title of Piece," other important contributors and their role, release or recorded date, track # on Title of Album, Producer, medium.

(B) Last Name, First of artist/composer/conductor. "Title of Piece." Other important contributors and their role. Release or Recorded date. Track # on Title of Album. Producer, medium.

Example

(N) 5. Matchbox 20, "Girl Like That," written by Rob Thomas,1996, track 5 on Yourself or Someone Like You, Atlantic Recording Corporation, compact disc.

(B) Matchbox 20. "Girl Like That." Written by Rob Thomas. 1996. Track 5 on Yourself or Someone Like You. Atlantic Recording Corporation, compact disc.

Song on a Streaming Service

(N) 6. Adele, "Rumour Has It," track 2 on 21, Columbia Records, 2011, Amazon Music streaming.

(B) Adele. "Rumour Has It." Track 2 on 21. Columbia Records, 2011. Amazon Music streaming.

Films

If you watch the film online, be sure to include the URL at the end of the citation in both Notes and Bibliography. In the Bibliography, you can choose to list the film by either the title or the name of the director.

Basic Format

(N) #. Title of the Film, directed by First and Last Name, other information relevant to your information (Company that produced the movie, release or created date), medium.

(B) Last Name, First Name, director. Title of the Movie. Company that produced the film, created or released date. Other relevant information. Medium.

Example

(N) 7. The Hunt For Red October, directed by John McTiernan, starring Sean Connery and Alec Baldwin (Paramount Pictures, 1990), DVD Disc.

(B) McTiernan, John, director. The Hunt For Red October. Paramount Pictures, 1990. 2 hr.,15 min. DVD Disc.