Research Guides: Mariology: FIND ARTICLES

1. Best Database -- for finding Mariology Articles -- Full text

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Core theology and religious studies database, provides indexing, abstracting, and full-text access to religious and theological scholarship in the form of journal articles, essays, and book reviews. For a TUTORIAL on searching with Bible citations, see: https://geiselguides.anselm.edu/database-userguides/OldTestament
Combines the ATLA “Religion Database” with the former “Catholic Periodic & Literature Index” (CPLI), and adds the ATLA “Serials PLUS” resources of 460+ full-text journals in 16 languages from more than 33 different countries.

Produced by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA), providing monthly updates and select coverage extending back into the early 19th-century.

Includes content on sacred texts, world religions (including Buddhism, Catholicism, Christianity, Islam, and Judaism) and denominations, interfaith dialogue, contextual and systematic theology, religious studies, denominational history, missions and ecumenism, pastoral ministry, archaeology and antiquities, human culture and society, philosophy, and ethics.

2. Other Theology Databases -- for finding Articles (note: OTA & NTA require InterLibrary Loan)

Religion Database [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Collection of online journals related to religious and theological studies, including titles published by religious organizations.
Religion and Philosophy: Gale OneFile [GALE] This link opens in a new window
Collection of more than 200 magazines and academic journals covering religion and the related areas of philosophy and anthropology.
Old Testament Abstracts [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, and book reviews related to Old Testament scholarship. For a TUTORIAL on searching with Bible citations, see: https://geiselguides.anselm.edu/database-userguides/OldTestament
New Testament Abstracts [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, and book reviews related to New Testament scholarship. For a TUTORIAL on searching with Bible citations, see: https://geiselguides.anselm.edu/database-userguides/OldTestament

3. Additional Databases -- for finding Articles -- Full text

JSTOR [ITHAKA] This link opens in a new window
Core interdisciplinary research database. Full text access is limited to backfiles that are generally older than the recent 5-years. Use Interlibrary Loan to request access to current content. (Library subscribes to JSTOR collections: I, II, III, VII, AAF pamphlets, Biological Sciences, and 43K+ monographic titles). For JSTOR tutorial, go to: https://geiselguides.anselm.edu/database-userguides/JSTOR
All other titles can be accessed via Interlibrary Loan.
Project MUSE - College Edition This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and article citations from over 100 journals, with a particular strength in literature, fine arts, history, and the humanities.
Academic Search Premier [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database is an excellent starting point for finding scholarly journal articles and popular magazine articles on a wide range of topics.

4. Search of ALL our Ebsco Journal/Article Databases (plus books and ebooks)

Click for ► Ebsco Discovery Search for articles on "Virgin Mary"

-- to limit to scholarly articles only: at results, change SourceType to "Academic Journals"

-- once there, change search terms to fit your exact topic...

How can I tell if an article is scholarly?

Looking at several aspects of the article can help you determine if it's scholarly/academic.

Author	What are the author's credentials? Do they have an advanced degree? Are they a researcher/professor in the subject matter the article is about? If the author is a journalist or writer, they are probably writing for a more general audience rather than for scholars.
Journal	What does the journal specialize in, and what is it's audience? Scholarly journals often specialize in a specific research topic or range of topics, and their audiences are other scholars and students rather than the general public. However, some scholarly journals have very broad scopes; Science, for example, is a prestigious journal that publishes research in all areas of science. Examples of scholarly/academic journals: Science, Psychiatric Rehabilitation Journal, Augustinian Studies, MIT Sloan Management Review. You should be able to find information about the scholarly journal on its website. It should have information about what it publishes, often called "Aims & Scope," and about its peer review.
References	How are the sources cited? All cited references have full citations. They might be in the form of footnotes at the bottoms of pages or a bibliography at the end of the article. Academic articles have in-text citations (parenthetical or with superscript numbers) In comparison, non-academic articles may just name people the author interviewed or give the title of a report mentioned in the text, but not the full citation.
Content	How specialized is the topic, and how is the article laid out? Does the title say exactly what the article is about? Is there jargon and subject-specific terminology? Is there an abstract? (However, scholarly articles in the humanities often do not have abstracts.) Are there figures like maps, charts, or graphs?

Want a second opinion? Feel free to ask a Librarian at the Reference Desk.

About InterLibrary Loan for Articles requested via various databases -- much faster than books

We send you emails regarding interlibrary loan requests for many reasons. Be sure to read your email thoroughly to determine why we have contacted you. For example:

Your material has been received and you need to pick it up at the circulation desk (books and films) or download it through your ILLiad (interlibrary loan) account (articles).
We canceled your request because we found the material in our databases or freely online and provided you a direct link.
We canceled your request because we were unable to find a library that could loan the material you requested.

Sample Journal, for articles

MARIAN STUDIES journal
- This link opens in a new window

Get Full-Text of Articles

If the full text of an article is not available in the database, here are tips for getting it elsewhere:

In the databases, click to see if the full text is:
- in another database,
- in Geisel Library's collection,
- or if you can request a copy via Interlibrary Loan.
Search the journal's name in Journal Finder to see if we have access to the year/volume/issue you need.
For more help, ask a librarian or see the FAQ on finding full text:

How do I get the full text of an article?

Ask a Librarian!

Contact the Reference Desk

	Email askanselm@anselm.edu
	Chat
	Text (603) 556-8883
	Call (603) 641-7306
	Make an Appointment

Reference Desk Hours

Sunday	CLOSED
Monday	8:30AM - 4:30PM
Tuesday	8:30AM - 4:30PM
Wednesday	8:30AM - 4:30PM
Thursday	8:30AM - 4:30PM
Friday	8:30AM - 4:30PM
Saturday	CLOSED