Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Homepage College Homepage
Research Guides

Mariology: FIND BOOKS

Supporting TH299 and TH401 with Prof. Patricia Sullivan

1. Search Library Catalog - mostly for Titles housed in Geisel Library

Library Catalog

Use this box to search the Geisel Library catalog for books and other materials in the library collection.

2. Discovery search of ALL library resources: Books, E-books (Articles etc.)


 
Limit to: audio

3. Still looking for ebooks? - This searches into complete fulltext of ebooks

Ebook Central

4. Search WorldCat - Libraries Globally - REQUIRING InterLibrary Loan (ILL)

WorldCat

Use WorldCat to search the collections of libraries worldwide. If you find a book in this database that is not owned by Geisel Library, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan by clicking on the "Request via Interlibrary Loan" link in the book's catalog record.

4.1 About InterLibrary Loan for Books requested via other Libraries via WorldCat

How long does it take to get a book I requested through interlibrary loan?

It depends on what day of the week you requested it, how many other libraries own the book, where they are, and how new the book is (how much it is in demand). Requests usually arrive in one to two weeks.

  • If you request it on a Friday, it'll take longer to be processed. Our interlibrary loan specialist doesn't work on the weekends, which is similar to most other libraries.
  • If other libraries in New Hampshire own it, you're likely to get it sooner than if we get it from a library across the country.
  • If you want to check on the status of your request, you can log in to your interlibrary loan account or ask a librarian. A status of "Request Sent" means we're waiting on another library to fill the request.
  • You will receive an email when the book arrives, and you can pick it up at the Circulation Desk.

Ask a Librarian!

Contact the Geisel Library Reference Desk

email Email askanselm@anselm.edu
Chat Chat
smartphone Text (603) 556-8883
 phone Call (603) 641-7306
calendar Make an Appointment

Fall Reference Hours

We're here to respond during...
M-Tu: noon - 10:00 p.m.
W-Th: noon - 4:30 p.m.
F: noon - 3:00 p.m.
Sa: noon - 5:00 p.m.
Su: CLOSED

SEE PHOTOS BELOW: Ref Desk, Gen BT600s, and Ref Shelves

5. Historical Theology books fulltext

ATLA Historical Monographs
This digital collection consists of 30,000 fulltext books related to religion and theology, with an emphasis on titles published during the early 1800's to 1922.  Contains series 1 & 2, published by the American Theological Library Association and EBSCO.

6. Religion and the Law books fulltext

Religion and the Law books fulltext 
This HeinOnline database of 3000+ fulltext books (from 1500 to present) provides a research platform for the development, history, organization, and fundamental principles of various world religions. The collection includes the Christian Legal Society publications, an assortment of Canon Law, books, periodicals, bibliographies, and rare historical bibles.  Includes some serials/journals also (approx. 60).

How can I tell if a book is scholarly?

How can I tell if a book is scholarly?

Looking at several aspects of the book can help you determine if it's scholarly/academic.

Author

What are the author's credentials? Do they have an advanced degree? Are they a researcher/professor in the subject matter the books is about? 

If the author is a journalist or writer, they are probably writing for a more general audience rather than for scholars.

Publisher

A lot of publishers specialize in publishing scholarly books. If it's a university press, that's a good sign it's scholarly. Not familiar with the publisher? Google it and see what they specialize in.

Examples of scholarly/academic publishers: Cambridge University Press, University of Minnesota Press, Routledge, Wiley, Taylor & Francis, World Scientific.

References Are the sources cited? They might be in the form of footnotes at the bottoms of pages, end notes at the end of chapters, or end notes or a bibliography at the end of the book. Academic books have in-text citations more frequently than non-academic books.
Content How specialized are the chapter titles? Is there jargon and subject-specific terminology? Are there figures like maps, charts, or graphs?

Want a second opinion? Ask a librarian at the Reference Desk.

Locating MARY Books by Call #

Most Mariology books (or books on Mary) are located on the Main Level of the library in the following call number sections.  

General Collection:  BT 595-685 =  Mary, Mother of Jesus, Mariology.

General Collection:  BT 650-660 =  Miracles. Apparitions. Shrines, sanctuaries, images, processions, etc.

So, basically...  BT 600's (see photos below)
.
See the Geisel Library floor plan for these locations on Main Level between A-BX.
For further help, view this FAQ on finding books in the library.

Recent Books on Mary or Mariology

Here are some recent Mariology books in the Geisel Library collection:

Reference Desk, Gen BT600s, turning around to Ref Books (Bibles, Commentaries, etc.)