Research Guides: EC325 / FI325 Bubbles and Crises: A History of Financial Crises: Find Articles

Use the databases below to search for scholarly journal articles.

ABI/INFORM Collection [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Core database for business research, contains full-text articles from scholarly journals and industry magazines, plus profiles of industries, companies, and markets.
Banking Information Database [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Full-text industry journals, newsletters, working papers, and other news sources related to banking and financial services.
Banking Information Database is now part of Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection. By default, your search will be limited to Banking Information Database content only. Deselect the checkbox to expand your search and get more results.
Business Source Premier [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Core resource for business research, access full-text articles, country reports, industry/company profiles, and SWOT analyses.
EconLit [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Published by the American Economic Association. Provides bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature.
Economics and Theory: Gale OneFile [GALE] This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics and related fields. The database has an emphasis on titles indexed in the American Economic Association's EconLit bibliography.
JSTOR [ITHAKA] This link opens in a new window
Core interdisciplinary research database. Full text access is limited to backfiles (generally on a 5 year rolling wall basis).
Use Interlibrary Loan to request access to current content.
**Library subscribes to JSTOR collections: I-VII, AAF pamphlets, Biological Sciences, and 43K+ monographic titles
All other titles can be accessed via Interlibrary Loan.
America: History and Life [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Locate abstracts to journal articles and books focusing on United States and Canadian history and culture.
Historical Abstracts [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to journal articles and books covering world history from 1450 to the present (excluding North America).

Use the databases below to search for newspaper articles.

Wall Street Journal [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Full text access to the Wall Street Journal (Eastern edition).
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Access to over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical and reference publications (most full-text, the rest abstracted), primarily newspapers, magazines and journals.
Covers local, regional and international newspapers (in English and non-English languages). Includes broadcast transcripts, case law, legal codes, regulations, Shepard's Citations to Supreme Court cases (back to 1789), company financial information, and SEC filings and reports.
Access World News Research Collection [NEWSBANK] This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive news collection ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, and national level. Diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos.
Newspaper Source [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from several major national and international newspapers, plus select full-text access to regional newspapers.
New York Times [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Full-text of articles published in the New York Times, via ProQuest Central
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Full Text Included

Subject Area(s): The Arts,History,News & Newspapers,Science & Technology

Coverage: 1851-2014
New York Times-Historical with Index [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Full-text/PDF access to the New York Times, from 1851 to four years ago via ProQuest.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times.
Coverage: 1851-4 years ago
Times Digital Archive [GALE] This link opens in a new window
Digital full-text access to every issue of The Times (London) newspaper from 1785 through 2014, except for Sunday editions (which are available through the Sunday Times Digital Archive).
First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.
Sunday Times Historical Archive [GALE] This link opens in a new window
Digital access to The Sunday Times Historical Archive, 1822-2006. Access to the complete run of the newspaper up to 2006, including all of its supplements.

Use the search box below when you have a citation and want to know if the library has access to the journal you need.

For example, if we had this citation and wanted to determine if the library had access to the article, we would search in the box below "Journal of Monetary Economics." From there we'd see if the library has a subscription to the journal through a database or if we needed to order the article through Interlibrary loan.

Aguiar, Mark and Fernando A. Broner. 2006. "Determining underlying macroeconomic fundamentals during emerging
market crises: Are conditions as bad as they seem?" Journal of Monetary Economics 53, no. 4: 699-724,
https://geisel.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/205800655?accountid=13640.

Get Full-Text of Articles

If the full text of an article is not available in the database, here are tips for getting it elsewhere:

In the databases, click to see if the full text is:
- in another database,
- in Geisel Library's collection,
- or if you can request a copy via Interlibrary Loan.
Search the journal's name in Journal Finder to see if we have access to the year/volume/issue you need.
For more help, ask a librarian or see the FAQ on finding full text:

How do I get the full text of an article?

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is Google's special search engine that looks for ONLY scholarly journal articles (or at least tries too. Occasionally a newspaper article or website will appear on the search result list).

If you search Google Scholar while on campus, a link will appear next to the search results to find the article in the library's databases.

NEVER PAY FOR ARTICLES THAT YOU FIND HERE OR ANYWHERE ELSE ONLINE!!!! If you need an article, submit an Interlibrary Loan request to get a copy of the article for FREE.

EC325 / FI325 Bubbles and Crises: A History of Financial Crises: Find Articles