Skip to Main Content Library Homepage College Homepage
Research Guides

TH102 The Pentateuch: Write and Cite

Considers the first five books of the Old Testament and the historical development of the oral and written traditions that went into their making.

Introduction

Please use the Chicago Manual of Style in this course. 

Related Links

Online Guides

Check the following websites for examples and guidance on how to properly format citations in Chicago or Turabian style:

Ask a Librarian

Contact the Reference Desk

email Email askanselm@anselm.edu
Chat Chat
smartphone Text (603) 556-8883
 phone Call (603) 641-7306
calendar Make an Appointment

 

Chicago Style Guide

The Chicago citation style is typically used by scholars in fields such as Humanities, Economic and Business, Education, Fine Arts and Music, History, Politics, and Theology.

The 16th edition (2010) of the Chicago Manual of Style is the most current edition in use, and features two style formats: Author/Date and Notes/Bibliography. Be sure to pick one style and use it consistently throughout your paper.

Citation Breakdown (Notes-Bibliography):

 

Citation Breakdown (Author-Date):

Art Works

Notes/Bibliography

Works of art reproduced in a printed source (treat as book chapter)

Artist’s last name, first name. "Title of art work," medium, date
          of art work (Institution where art work is housed (if known),
          city where housed if not already named). In Title of printed 
          source italicized, by Author of printed source, page or
          plate/figure/slide number. Place of publication: publisher, date.

Example:

Cassatt, Mary. "Mother and Child," oil on canvas, c.1890 (Wichita Art
           Museum). In American Painting: 1560-1913, by John Pearce,
           slide 22. New York: McGraw, 1964.

Works of art reproduced in electronic source

Artist’s last name, first name. Title of art work, medium, date of art
          work (Institution where art work is housed (if known), city
          where housed if not already named). URL.

Example:

Monet, Claude. Meadow with Haystacks at Giverny, oil on canvas,
          1885 (Museum of Fine Arts, Boston). http://www.artstor.org.

Images

Notes/Bibliography

Image from a library subscription database:

Bibliography 

Hoshiko, Eugene. "China Rain." Photograph. 1999. AP Images, ID99062401980.

Notes 

Eugene Hoshiko, "China Rain," photograph, 1999, AP Images, ID99062401980.

Image from an online database:

Bibliogrpahy 

Currier & Ives. "Gray Eagle." Lithograph. ca. 1866. Library of Congress Prints                       and Photographs Online Catalog, http://www.loc.gov/pictures/item/2006676682/           (accessed September 25, 2010).

Notes 

Currier & Ives, "Gray Eagle," lithograph, ca. 1866, Library of Congress                                   Prints and Photographs Online Catalog, http://www.loc.gov/pictures/item/                       2006676682/ (accessed September 25, 2010).

Image from a website:

Bibliography 

Wilma, David. "El Centro de la Raza, Beacon Hill, Seattle." Photograph. 2001.                       HistoryLink.org, http://www.historylink.org/index.cfm?DisplayPage=                                 output.cfm&file_id=9186 (accessed September 25, 2010).

Notes 

David Wilma, "El Centro de la Raza, Beacon Hill, Seattle," photograph,                                   2001,HistoryLink.org http://www.historylink.org/index.cfm?DisplayPage                           =output.cfm&file_id=9186 (accessed September 25, 2010).

Format of Annotated Bibliographies

Your professor may offer specific instructions on how to format an annotated bibliography and what should be the special characteristics of the annotations. However, most annotated bibliographies have the following common format:

  • An organized list of citations
  • An annotation following each citation. The annotation is usually no more than 150 words (or 4-6 sentences long) and does not have to be written in complete sentences. Depending on your assignment, annotations may include some or all of the following information:
    • ​A brief statement describing the main focus of the work
    • A brief statement about the author's credentials
    • An explanation of the intended audience
    • An explanation of why the work did or did not meet expectations
    • Special features of the work that are unique or helpful

Sample Citation with Annotation

(1) Hamerton, Philip Gilbert. Thoughts About Art. Boston: Roberts Brothers, 1871.

(2.) Hamerton, the noted art critic and art book author, wrote this book as originally part of the "The Painter's Camp" and is worthy reading because of its suggestiveness. (3) Thus, some of the various ways in which different painters undertake their work are made clear in the chapters "Painting from Nature" and "Painting from Memoranda." (4) The general relation of art, and especially painting, to the general world of thought and perception is more plainly seen after a careful study of this book, especially in the chapters "Transcendentalism in Painting" and "Analysis and Synthesis." (5) The article is useful to my research topic, as an historical perspective on art by a famed art critic. (6) However, the main limitation of the book is that there are no illustrations to the art works described. This was generally to be understood by the readers of his time. (7)  Of interest is that general disregard and the common contempt for art among English-speaking people is well explained and its consequence pointed out. (8) This book will not form the basis of my research; however it will be useful supplementary information.

Key

(1) Citation
(2) Introduction 
(3) Aims & Research methods
(4) Scope
(5) Usefulness (to your research/ to a particular topic)
(6) Limitations
(7) Conclusions
(8) Reflection (explain how this work illuminates your topic or how it will fit in with your research)

Avoiding Plagiarism

Walk through this tutorial to get a better understanding of what actions are considered plagiarism, and learn practical tips for how to avoid committing plagiarism.