Research Guides: TH102 The Pentateuch: Find Articles

Get Full-Text of Articles

In many cases, you will find the full-text of articles directly in the journal databases. Here are some tips for how to get the full-text in other situations:

In the databases, click to see if the full text is in another database or if you can request a copy via Interlibrary Loan
If you have an article's citation information in hand, search the journal's name in Journal Finder to see if the library has access to the year you need

Ask a Librarian

Contact the Reference Desk

	Email askanselm@anselm.edu
	Chat
	Text (603) 556-8883
	Call (603) 641-7306
	Make an Appointment

CORE DATABASES

Old Testament Abstracts [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, and book reviews related to Old Testament scholarship.

(does not contain immediate full-text; see below on requesting articles via InterLibrary Loan)

View a tutorial on searching Old Testament Abstracts, even by Scripture citations.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Core theology and religious studies database, provides indexing, abstracting, and full-text access to religious and theological scholarship in the form of journal articles, essays, and book reviews.
Combines the ATLA “Religion Database” with the former “Catholic Periodic & Literature Index” (CPLI), and adds the ATLA “Serials PLUS” resources of 460+ full-text journals in 16 languages from more than 33 different countries.

Produced by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA), providing monthly updates and select coverage extending back into the early 19th-century.

Includes content on sacred texts, world religions (including Buddhism, Catholicism, Christianity, Islam, and Judaism) and denominations, interfaith dialogue, contextual and systematic theology, religious studies, denominational history, missions and ecumenism, pastoral ministry, archaeology and antiquities, human culture and society, philosophy, and ethics.

InterLibrary Loan (ILL) Instructions

Instructions for Submitting Interlibrary Loan Requests

Many articles (etc) needed for assignments are online already via Geisel Library databases. Likewise, Geisel Library usually does not provide interlibrary loan services for materials that it already owns in paper/print. However, we recognize that online students may not be able to go to the library to find the print materials they need to complete some of their coursework. Therefore, we have instituted an exception for students in online courses. If you follow the instructions below, we will provide electronically to you the necessary pages from print journals owned in paper but that are not online electronically:

Log into your ILLiad account at - https://anselm.illiad.oclc.org/illiad/logon.html
Under “Make New Request” click on the appropriate format.
Complete each field pertaining to Title, Author, Journal Title, and etc.
In the “Comments” field type I am in Prof. Pilarski’s online summer course.
Click the “Submit Request” button.
You will receive an email when the resource is available for you to download from you ILLiad account.

Please contact a Librarian should you have any questions.

Important PERIODICALS in the study of the Old Testament

Most of the following periodical titles are indexed in ATLA. If necessary, a few can be found via Journal Finder as well.

Ancient Near Eastern Studies

Bible Review

Bible Today

Biblica

Biblical Archaeology Review

Biblical Interpretation

Biblical Research

Biblical Theology Bulletin

Biblische Zeitschrift

Bulletin of the American School of Oriental Research

Catholic Biblical Quarterly

Harvard Theological Review

Interpretation

Journal of Biblical Literature

Journal of Near Eastern Studies

Old Testament Abstracts

Revue Biblique

Revista Biblica

SJOT (Scandinavian Journal of OT)

Vetus Testamentum

Zeitschrift für die alttesmentliche Wissenschaft