This guide is specifically tailored to the writing process of a Master's Thesis in Criminal Justice, but will be useful for your entire Master's program.
Search for demographic data related to population, economy, business, education, employment, families & living, housing, health, income & poverty, international trade, and the public sector, etc.
Access the Statistical Abstract of the United States (1970 - present). Search one volume at a time or multiple volumes simultaneously. Charts can be downloaded into Excel for further data manipulation.
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States from 1970 to today.
"The U.S. Census Bureau terminated the collection of data for the Statistical Compendia program effective October 1, 2011." You can find abstracts only for years prior to 2011.
Access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic
*Use the Google tab and sign in with your Saint Anselm College email address and password. Signing in this way affiliates you with the college’s ICPSR membership, providing you access to all consortium-supported data and related services.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community. This continuously-updated database contains thousands of citations of works using data held in the ICPSR archive.
Disciplines represented include political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, terrorism, health and medical care, early education, education, racial and ethnic minorities, psychology, law, substance abuse and mental health, and more.
Most of the datasets in the ICPSR archive are raw data from surveys, censuses, and administrative records. They were originally gathered in research projects and for administrative purposes. ICPSR preserves them because they have value for "secondary analysis" - that is, reexamining old data to address new questions or to employ new analytic methods.
Largest collection of public opinion poll data with results from 1935 to the present. Roper iPoll contains nearly 800,000 questions and over 23,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms. Surveys cover any number of topics including, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more. When available, results charts, demographic crosstabs and full datasets are provided for immediate download.
Access the Statistical Abstract of the United States (1970 - present). Search one volume at a time or multiple volumes simultaneously. Charts can be downloaded into Excel for further data manipulation.
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States from 1970 to today.
