Research Guides: CJ700 &amp; CJ710 Master's Thesis: Finding Articles

Databases by Subject

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Core database for criminal justice topics containing full text of the most important journals and magazines related to criminal justice and criminology.
Criminal Justice Database [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Abstracts to a healthy mix of scholarly and trade journal articles related to criminal justice research.
Criminal Justice: Gale OneFile [GALE] This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and magazines on topics in criminal justice and related fields. Key subjects covered in the database include law, law enforcement, security, and terrorism.
NCJRS Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
Limit your search to 'Publications (With Full Text)' to find full-text criminal justice publications produced by the US government.

Westlaw Campus Research [THOMSON REUTERS] This link opens in a new window
Core database of legal materials, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; includes the legal encyclopedia American Jurisprudence 2nd and American Law Reports; case law from 1789 to present; current statutes and regulations. Documents can also be accessed through broad subject categories such as Civil Rights, International Law and Environmental Law.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Access to over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical and reference publications (most full-text, the rest abstracted), primarily newspapers, magazines and journals.
Covers local, regional and international newspapers (in English and non-English languages). Includes broadcast transcripts, case law, legal codes, regulations, Shepard's Citations to Supreme Court cases (back to 1789), company financial information, and SEC filings and reports.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database containing comprehensive coverage from inception of both US statutory materials, US Congressional Documents and the US Congressional Serial Set and more than 2,600 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all US treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase.
Includes special collections on Criminal Justice, History, Foreign Relations, Religion and the Law and Women and the Law.
Congressional Publications [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Use to access the Congressional Record Bound Edition (1789 - present), Committee Prints and Publications (2014-2017), and CRS Reports (2014-2017).
Also available is ProQuest's Congress in Context which contains congressional profiles that give historical context to each Congressional term (party divisions, leadership, economic conditions, and major events).
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Core resource for scholarly literature in political science and international relations.

ERIC [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Core database for the field of education, including early childhood education, K-12 education, higher education and adult education research.
PsycARTICLES [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Full text complement to PsycINFO, this database provides full-text articles from 60 peer-reviewed psychology journals.
SocINDEX with Full Text [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Core database in sociology offering full text journal articles plus citations for books and conference papers dealing with all aspects of sociological studies.
Social Science Database [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and trade periodicals related to sociological research.

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of most Association for Computing Machinery publications, plus citations to computer science journal articles.
Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management collected from a wide variety of sources.
Includes federal, state, tribal, and local government agencies, professional organizations, think tanks, academic institutions, and international governing bodies. Resources are carefully selected and evaluated by a team of librarians and subject-matter specialists.
Global Terrorism Database This link opens in a new window
Information on domestic and international terrorist attacks around the world dating back to 1970
Unlike many other event databases, the GTD includes systematic data on domestic as well as international terrorist incidents that have occurred during this time period and now includes more than 170,000 cases.

ICPSR Bibliography of Data-related Literature [UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN] This link opens in a new window
*Use the Google tab and sign in with your Saint Anselm College email address and password. Signing in this way affiliates you with the college’s ICPSR membership, providing you access to all consortium-supported data and related services.

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community. This continuously-updated database contains thousands of citations of works using data held in the ICPSR archive.
Disciplines represented include political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, terrorism, health and medical care, early education, education, racial and ethnic minorities, psychology, law, substance abuse and mental health, and more.

Most of the datasets in the ICPSR archive are raw data from surveys, censuses, and administrative records. They were originally gathered in research projects and for administrative purposes. ICPSR preserves them because they have value for "secondary analysis" - that is, reexamining old data to address new questions or to employ new analytic methods.
Roper iPoll [ROPER CENTER FOR PUBLIC OPINION RESEARCH] This link opens in a new window
Largest collection of public opinion poll data with results from 1935 to the present. Roper iPoll contains nearly 800,000 questions and over 23,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms. Surveys cover any number of topics including, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more. When available, results charts, demographic crosstabs and full datasets are provided for immediate download.
Data and Statistics about the U.S. This link opens in a new window
Access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic

Uniform Crime Reports
To find crimes in a particular state, click on Crime in the United States / Table 8
more...less...
To find crimes in a particular state, click on Crime in the United States / Table 8
Bureau of Justice Statistics
The BJS offers statistical data and reports about crime and justice in the US, including crime rates, drugs, sentencing, and victim characteristics.

Academic Search Premier [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database is an excellent starting point for finding scholarly journal articles and popular magazine articles on a wide range of topics.
JSTOR [ITHAKA] This link opens in a new window
Core interdisciplinary research database. Full text access is limited to backfiles (generally on a 5 year rolling wall basis).
Use Interlibrary Loan to request access to current content.
**Library subscribes to JSTOR collections: I-VII, AAF pamphlets, Biological Sciences, and 43K+ monographic titles
All other titles can be accessed via Interlibrary Loan.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Core interdisciplinary database, contains full-text journal articles, newspaper articles, dissertations, and business and industry profiles.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Learn about major issues from current and historical perspectives and the inner workings of the U.S. government from authoritative, accessible, and unbiased sources.

Get Full-Text of Articles

In many cases, you will find the full-text of articles directly in the journal databases. Here are some tips for how to get the full-text in other situations:

In the databases, click to see if the full text is in another database or in Geisel Library's collection, or if you can request a copy via Interlibrary Loan

If WebBridge says the journal is in the library's collection, see our video tutorial for how to find it on the shelf

If you have an article's citation information in hand, search the journal's name in Journal Finder to see if the library has access to the year you need

Ask a Librarian!

Contact the Reference Desk

	Email askanselm@anselm.edu
	Chat
	Text (603) 556-8883
	Call (603) 641-7306
	Make an Appointment

Reference Desk Hours

Sunday	2PM - 10PM
Monday	11AM - 10PM
Tuesday	11AM - 10PM
Wednesday	11AM - 10PM
Thursday	11AM - 5PM
Friday	11AM - 3PM
Saturday	12PM - 5PM

Need Help with Databases?

If you're having trouble using databases, take a look at the tutorials in the link below. If you still can't find the help you're looking for, come ask a librarian!

Database Tutorials