Research Guides: ED322 Inclusion, Equity, and Diversity in Education: The Basics

Assignment

Identify political and cultural atmosphere of the time. Set the scene.
Tell the story of the court case. Who was involved? What was the issue? What was the ruling? What was the impact for students with disabilities and/or their families?
What is the direct connection to one or more of the 6 key principles in IDEA?

Westlaw Campus Research [THOMSON REUTERS] This link opens in a new window
Core database of legal materials, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; includes the legal encyclopedia American Jurisprudence 2nd and American Law Reports; case law from 1789 to present; current statutes and regulations. Documents can also be accessed through broad subject categories such as Civil Rights, International Law and Environmental Law.

Using Westlaw

A red flag warns that the case is no longer good law for at least one of the points of law it contains.
A yellow flag warns that the case has some negative history but has not been reversed or overruled.

Background & Overview

Encyclopedias are a great place to find contextual overviews of information.

eBooks [GALE] This link opens in a new window
Core electronic reference collection, this collection of online subject encyclopedias provides in-depth articles on a wide range of topics, with an emphasis on the social sciences.
Credo Reference [INFOBASE] This link opens in a new window
Online reference database enables simultaneous searching of 100 scholarly reference works, across all areas of study.