Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Not To Be Missed!
Film Literature Index (FLI)
Hundreds of citations to film, television and video articles, reviews and book reviews.
Film Studies For Free
A-Z list of links to online, Open Access, English-language Film-Studies related e-journals and other relevant scholarly, periodical websites with at least some OA content.
Public Moving Image Archives and Research Centers
Provides access to hundreds of major film archives worldwide. Includes direct links to film preservation and archiving sites.
Voice of the Shuttle : Media Studies
Sponsored by the University of California, Santa Barbara, Voice of the Shuttle acts as a clearinghouse and hub for quality websites in the humanities.
Selected Film Associations
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Science
Professional honorary organization composed of over 6,000 motion picture craftspersons dedicated to advancing the arts and sciences of motion pictures. Presentation of the Oscars.
American Film Institute
The AFI is the United States' preeminent professional association for the preservation and advancement of film and television. Site includes links to workshops and other professional development, film lists, festival news, and other resources.
The Association of Moving Image Archivists advances the field of moving image archiving by fostering cooperation among individuals and organizations concerned with the acquisition, description, preservation, exhibition and use of moving image materials.
British Film Institute has access to world-renowned archives, cinemas, festivals, films, publications and learning resources.
British Academy of Film and Television Arts
BAFTA is the leading independent charity in the UK supporting, developing and promoting the art forms of the moving image.
Motion Picture Association of America
The Motion Picture Association of America, Inc. (MPAA), together with the Motion Picture Association (MPA) and MPAA's other subsidiaries and affiliates, serves as the voice and advocate of the American motion picture, home video and television industries in the United States and around the world.
Selected Critical Websites: General
The Criterion Collection
Search this website for unique film essays, news, and interviews relevant to important classic and contemporary films.
Internet Movie Database
A database of information about movies and people involved in the making of movies. An excellent resource if you want to verify information such as who the cinematographer was on a particular film. The comments from other visitors are NOT scholarly, so don't rely on that part the site.
Reel Classics: the Classical Movie Site
Internet's most comprehensive site dedicated exclusively to Classic Movies.
Selected Critical Websites: American Films
American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library (Library of Congress)
Extensive and searchable online collections on different historical genres of American Motion Pictures. Includes titles such as: "Before and After the Great Earthquake and Fire: Early Films of San Francisco, 1897–1916", "Theodore Roosevelt: His Life and Times on Film", "America at Work, America at Leisure: Motion Pictures from 1894–1915", "The Spanish-American War in Motion Pictures" and more.
Selected Critical Websites: Animation
Chronophotographical projects, profiles of pre-cinema pioneers, optical animation toys, gif animations and links to other pages.
Origins of American Animation — Library of Congress
The development of early American animation is represented by this collection of 21 animated films and 2 fragments, which spans the years 1900 to 1921. The films include clay, puppet, and cut-out animation, as well as pen drawings. They point to a connection between newspaper comic strips and early animated films, as represented by Keeping Up With the Joneses, Krazy Kat, and The Katzenjammer Kids. As well as showing the development of animation, these films also reveal the social attitudes of early twentieth-century America.
Selected Critical Websites: Documentaries
American Indian Film Gallery
The AIFG presently contains over 450 non-fiction films that document Native lifeways from the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego, with a large concentration on peoples of the Southwest. The films range from a 1922 silent newsreel to recent footage of pow-wows and political meetings in 2011. The majority of the films date to the golden age of U.S. educational and sponsored filmmaking, after World War II up to the advent of portable video. Interestingly, the video age marks a shift in the collection from films about Native peoples to films by Native peoples. This historical span, then, allows for study of Native representation from outside and inside indigenous communities across the Americas over nearly a century. As such, it is an incomparable teaching and research tool for examining historical attitudes, representations, and understandings of indigenous populations across the Americas.
News and reviews of documentary films, as well as information on festivals and filmmakers.
Folkstreams.net: The Best of American Folklore Films
This website enables you to view a collection of over 100 documentaries about American folk culture. Background articles are available for each film.
Selected Critical Websites: History Films
Introduction to the first decade of motion pictures.
Steven Spielberg Film and Video Archive
This online catalog provides access to the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum’s Steven Spielberg Film and Video Archive. The Archive serves as a comprehensive informational and archival resource worldwide for moving image materials pertaining to the Holocaust and related aspects of World War II.
Ask a Librarian!
Contact the Geisel Library Reference Desk
Spring Reference Hours
We're here to respond during...
M-Tu: 10 a.m. - 10 p.m.
W-Th: 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
F: 10 a.m. - 3 p.m.
Sa: noon - 5 p.m.
New Media, Digital Media, and Moving Images
- Internet Archive: Moving Image Archive
Moving Image archive from the Internet Archive
- Internet Archive: Prelinger Archives
Over 2,000 "ephemeral" training, advertising, amateur, educational, industrial films from the Library of Congress, collected by Rick Prelinger.
- Moving Image Collections (Library of Congress)
Lets you discover, locate, and even (in some cases) view moving images from around the world. From the Library of Congress.
- The Open Video Project
Shared Digital Video Collection; mostly documentary and educational, but the "Ephemeral" Category has quite a bit of advertising, public service, etc: 1955 Chevrolet Screen Ads, About Bananas, Act Your Age, About Fallout.
- Rhizome | ArtBase
"Founded in 1999, the Rhizome ArtBase is an online archive of new media art containing some 2110 art works, and growing. The ArtBase encompasses a vast range of projects by artists all over the world that employ materials including software, code, website
- Rose Goldsen Archive of New Media Art: Resources
Extensive list of new media archives and sites, from the Rose Goldsen Archive at Cornell University Libraries.
Has been called the "Avant-Garde YouTube." Issues of the magazines Dada and Aspen, sound, video, documentaries about artists, etc.