Research Guides: Film Studies: Citing in Chicago Style

Writing About Film

A Short Guide to Writing about Film Both an introduction to film study and a practical writing guide, this brief text introduces students to major film theories as well as film terminology, enabling them to write more thoughtfully and critically. With numerous student and professional examples, this engaging and practical guide progresses from taking notes and writing first drafts to creating polished essays and comprehensive research projects. Moving from movie reviews to theoretical and critical essays, the text demonstrates how an analysis of a film can become more subtle and rigorous as part of a compositional process.
Call Number: PN1995 .C66 2010

WRITING ACROSS THE CURRICULUM : Writing about Film
FROM: THE HUNTER COLLEGE WRITING CENTER

Citation Creators

Many research databases offer "cite this item" features, which generate citations in the most popular styles (MLA, APA, etc.) for any source that you find. You can then copy-paste these directly into your papers.

WARNING: Be sure to double-check these citations against the rules for proper style, since they are NOT always accurate.

EndNote

This software program allows you to import citations from our research databases and then easily create in-text citations and bibliographies in your research papers, in the style of your choosing (MLA, APA, Turabian, etc.).

To obtain a copy of EndNote on CD (for either PC or Mac), contact the IT Help Desk located in Geisel Library.

For help with EndNote features, see our User's Guides for EndNote (desktop version) and EndNote Online.

Chicago Style Guide

The Chicago citation style is typically used by scholars in fields such as Humanities, Economic and Business, Education, Fine Arts and Music, History, Politics, and Theology.

The 16th edition (2010) of the Chicago Manual of Style is the most current edition in use, and features two style formats: Author/Date and Notes/Bibliography. Be sure to pick one style and use it consistently throughout your paper.

Chicago Quick Guide

Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
Access the online version of the Chicago Manual of Style. Users can choose between the 16th and 17th editions.

The Chicago Manual of Style (16th ed.)
Call Number: REF Z253 .U69
ISBN: 9780226104201
Publication Date: 2010

Citation Breakdown (Notes-Bibliography):

Citation Breakdown (Author-Date):

Art Works

Notes/Bibliography

Works of art reproduced in a printed source (treat as book chapter)

Artist’s last name, first name. "Title of art work," medium, date
          of art work (Institution where art work is housed (if known),
          city where housed if not already named). In Title of printed
          source italicized, by Author of printed source, page or
          plate/figure/slide number. Place of publication: publisher, date.

Example:

Cassatt, Mary. "Mother and Child," oil on canvas, c.1890 (Wichita Art
Museum). In American Painting: 1560-1913, by John Pearce,
slide 22. New York: McGraw, 1964.

Works of art reproduced in electronic source

Artist’s last name, first name. Title of art work, medium, date of art
work (Institution where art work is housed (if known), city
where housed if not already named). URL.

Example:

Monet, Claude. Meadow with Haystacks at Giverny, oil on canvas,
1885 (Museum of Fine Arts, Boston). http://www.artstor.org.

Images

Notes/Bibliography

Image from a library subscription database:

Bibliography

Hoshiko, Eugene. "China Rain." Photograph. 1999. AP Images, ID99062401980.

Notes

Eugene Hoshiko, "China Rain," photograph, 1999, AP Images, ID99062401980.

Image from an online database:

Bibliogrpahy

Currier & Ives. "Gray Eagle." Lithograph. ca. 1866. Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog, http://www.loc.gov/pictures/item/2006676682/ (accessed September 25, 2010).

Notes

Currier & Ives, "Gray Eagle," lithograph, ca. 1866, Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog, http://www.loc.gov/pictures/item/ 2006676682/ (accessed September 25, 2010).

Image from a website:

Bibliography

Wilma, David. "El Centro de la Raza, Beacon Hill, Seattle." Photograph. 2001. HistoryLink.org, http://www.historylink.org/index.cfm?DisplayPage= output.cfm&file_id=9186 (accessed September 25, 2010).

Notes

David Wilma, "El Centro de la Raza, Beacon Hill, Seattle," photograph, 2001,HistoryLink.org http://www.historylink.org/index.cfm?DisplayPage =output.cfm&file_id=9186 (accessed September 25, 2010).