Research Guides: Film Studies: Finding Articles

Get Full-Text of Articles

If the full text of an article is not available in the database, here are tips for getting it elsewhere:

In the databases, click to see if the full text is:
- in another database,
- in Geisel Library's collection,
- or if you can request a copy via Interlibrary Loan.
Search the journal's name in Journal Finder to see if we have access to the year/volume/issue you need.
For more help, ask a librarian or see the FAQ on finding full text:

How do I get the full text of an article?

Freely Accessible Film Journals & Magazines

Bright Lights Film Journal
Includes reviews and more substantial studies of directors and other key production figures, analyses of genres, studios and studio style, and topics like gender and minority contributions to film.
Electric Sheep Magazine
Electric Sheep is the online magazine for lovers of offbeat, left-field and cult cinema.
Film-Philosophy
An international peer-reviewed academic journal dedicated to philosophically discussing film studies, aesthetics and world cinema.
Images: A Journal of Film and Popular Culture
Images publishes articles about movies, television, videos, and other popular visual arts.
indieWIRE
In-depth coverage with an emphasis on the American independent film community. Includes information on film festivals.
Scope
Scope is a fully peer-reviewed online journal edited by staff and students in the Institute of Film & Television Studies at the University of Nottingham.
Screening the Past
Publishes material of interest to historians of film and media, to film and media scholars, and to film makers interested in the history of their craft or in representing history through their productions.
Senses of Cinema
An online journal from Australia catering to a wide audience; it offers a searchable archives of past issues, as well as helpful links to other Internet film resources.
Vertigo
Vertigo is a unique project which champions innovation and diversity in form and culture for independent film and the moving image. Through its magazine, website and special events, Vertigo engages audiences, educators, students and practitioners, introducing new work and critical debate.

Film Studies Databases

Academic Search Premier [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database is an excellent starting point for finding scholarly journal articles and popular magazine articles on a wide range of topics.
MLA International Bibliography [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Core database for literary research, includes citations to articles and books related to literature, language, and folklore.
Literature Resource Center [GALE] This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text journal articles, biographical information on authors, plot summaries of literary works, and literature criticism.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Core interdisciplinary research database. Full text access is limited to backfiles (generally on a 5 year rolling wall basis).
Use Interlibrary Loan to request access to current content.
**Library subscribes to JSTOR collections: I-VII, AAF pamphlets, Biological Sciences, and 43K+ monographic titles
All other titles can be accessed via Interlibrary Loan.
Project MUSE - College Edition This link opens in a new window
Electronic journals in the humanities and the social sciences. (Full-text).
Readers' Guide Retrospective [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to popular magazine articles for the period 1890-1982.

Selected Full-Text Journal Titles

Look for these journals through Journal Finder to see which database(s) they live in, or if we have print copies of them in the library:

American film (0361-4751)

Apropos, Film : das Jahrbuch der DEFA-Stiftung

Black film review (0887-5723)

Canadian journal of film studies (0847-5911)

Dialogue on film

Extensions (University of California, Los Angeles. School of Theater, Film and Television)

Film and Fiction for French Historians: A Cultural Bulletin

Film & history (0360-3695)

Film comment (0015-119X)

Film criticism (0163-5069)

Film culture (0015-1211)

Film history (New York, N.Y.) (0892-2160)

Film Ireland Magazine

Film journal (Pickerington, Ohio)

Film journal international (1526-9884)

Film-philosophy

Film quarterly (0015-1386)

Historical journal of film, radio, and television (0143-9685)

Independent film & video (1077-8918)

Journal of film and video (0742-4671)

Journal of film preservation (1609-2694)

Journal of plastic film & sheeting (8756-0879)

Journal of popular film and television (0195-6051)

Journal of religion and film

Literature film quarterly (0090-4260)

Millennium film journal (1064-5586)

On film (Wellington, N.Z.) (0112-2789)

Paper, film & foil converter (0031-1138)

Projector film and media journal

Quarterly of film, radio, and television (1549-0068)

Quarterly of film, radio, and television

Thin film/diamond technology news (1081-4027)

Variety international film guide (0963-5769)

Ask a Librarian!

Contact the Reference Desk

	Email askanselm@anselm.edu
	Chat
	Text (603) 556-8883
	Call (603) 641-7306
	Make an Appointment

Film Studies: Finding Articles