Research Guides: Gender Studies: Find Articles

How to Get Full Text of Articles

If the full text of an article is not available in the database, here are tips for getting it elsewhere:

In the databases, click to see if the full text is:
- in another database,
- in Geisel Library's collection,
- or if you can request a copy via Interlibrary Loan.
Search the journal's name in Journal Finder to see if we have access to the year/volume/issue you need.
For more help, ask a librarian or see the FAQ on finding full text:

How do I get the full text of an article?

Core Databases

Gender Studies: Gale OneFile [GALE] This link opens in a new window
Access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Comprehensive periodical collection supporting significant aspects of gender in culture and society.
Contemporary Women's Issues: Gale OneFile [GALE] This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary, full-text database that brings together relevant content from mainstream periodicals, "gray" literature, and the alternative press -- with a focus on the critical issues and events that influence women's lives in more than 190 countries.
SocINDEX with Full Text [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Core database in sociology offering full text journal articles plus citations for books and conference papers dealing with all aspects of sociological studies.
Sociology Database [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies.
Social Science Database [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and trade periodicals related to sociological research.
JSTOR [ITHAKA] This link opens in a new window
Core interdisciplinary research database. Full text access is limited to backfiles (generally on a 5 year rolling wall basis).
Use Interlibrary Loan to request access to current content.
**Library subscribes to JSTOR collections: I-VII, AAF pamphlets, Biological Sciences, and 43K+ monographic titles
All other titles can be accessed via Interlibrary Loan.
Women and Transnational Networks [GALE] This link opens in a new window
Focuses on issues at the intersection of gender and class, from the late eighteenth century to the era of suffrage in the early twentieth century, through a transnational perspective.
This collection deepens the comprehensive coverage of European movements by adding sources from the United States and other regions. The focus of this collection is on major nineteenth-century trends, topics, and events as they relate to gender, including social reform, high and low culture, transnational networks, immigration, daily life, religion, and more.

Additional Databases

Depending on your topic you may need to consult other subject specific databases.

Communication & Mass Media Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Use CMMC to research the role that media plays in society.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Use Criminal Justice Abstracts to locate research on various aspects of criminology.
ERIC [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Use ERIC to locate articles that focus on the topic of education.
Project MUSE - College Edition This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and article citations from over 100 journals, with a particular strength in literature, fine arts, history, and the humanities.
PsycINFO [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Use PsycINFO to locate research in psychology.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Use WPSA to research topics relating to political science including public and social policy on the domestic and international levels.

Ask a Librarian!

Contact the Reference Desk

	Email askanselm@anselm.edu
	Chat
	Text (603) 556-8883
	Call (603) 641-7306
	Make an Appointment

Reference Desk Hours

Sunday	2PM - 10PM
Monday	11AM - 10PM
Tuesday	11AM - 10PM
Wednesday	11AM - 10PM
Thursday	11AM - 5PM
Friday	11AM - 3PM
Saturday	12PM - 5PM

FAQs

Gender and Society

Read the latest articles from Gender & Society: