Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Governmental and NGO Publications & Statistics
Governments and non-governmental organizations publish relevant research reports, statistics, and other information. These types of publications can be harder to find than journal articles, but the following tips can help you out:
- Consider what types of organizations are concerned with the topic (e.g. Amnesty International, the United Nations, and the World Health Organization). Do some Google searching if you don't know any by name (e.g. women's research institutes).
- If you're researching a topic related to a specific geographic area, find the local and state government websites. Search or browse the websites to find the relevant department(s) related to your topic.
- In a Google search, add site:org filetype:pdf to your keywords to search only PDF files from .org websites, which is how organizations and institutions are likely to publish their research reports.
Discovering American Women's History Online
Middle Tennessee State University
Use this database to locate digitized primary resources related to women's history in the United States. Search for collections by keyword or browse by state, time period, source type or subject heading.
Feminae: Medieval Women and History Index
University of Iowa Libraries
Use Feminae to locate citations to articles, essays, chapters, and books dealing with women and gender in the Middle Ages.
Internet Women's History Sourcebook
Use the Internet Women's History Sourcebook to locate primary sources on women from a variety of time periods and geographic areas. The strongest collections on this site are the ancient Greece and Rome, Medieval Europe, and Modern Europe collections.
Ohio State University
Use the Monastic Matrix to research women's religious communities from 400-1600 CE. Information on the site includes a directory of religious communities, a collection of digital images, and an index of primary and secondary sources all of which are searchable by author, religious community, or location.
The Men's Bibliography
Michael Flood, Men's Studies Scholar
Search the Men's Bibliography to locate citations to research on masculinities studies. Research cited covers a number of geographic regions and focuses on a variety of disciplines including sociology, philosophy, and theology.
University of Cologne
Search Gender Inn's "8,400 records pertaining to feminist theory, feminist literary criticism and gender studies focusing on English and American literature."
Ask a Librarian!
Contact the Geisel Library Reference Desk
Fall Reference Hours
We're here to respond during...
M-Tu: noon - 10:00 p.m.
W-Th: noon - 4:30 p.m.
F: noon - 3:00 p.m.
Sa: noon - 5:00 p.m.