Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Homepage College Homepage
Research Guides

Library & Research FAQs: About the Library

Ask a Librarian

Contact the Geisel Library Reference Desk

email Email askanselm@anselm.edu
Chat Chat
smartphone Text (603) 556-8883
 phone Call (603) 641-7306
calendar Make an Appointment

Fall Reference Hours

We're here to respond during...
M-Tu: noon - 10:00 p.m.
W-Th: noon - 4:30 p.m.
F: noon - 3:00 p.m.
Sa: noon - 5:00 p.m.
Su: CLOSED

How do I access library databases when I'm not on campus?

How do I access library databases when I'm not on campus?

Discovery (Main Library Search Box)

image of text "Off Campus? Log in to access full text atnd more content."When using Discovery from the library homepage, you will be able to log in after doing a search. From the search results page, click the “Off Campus? Log in to access full text and more content” link in the top right corner of the page.

Other Databases

Simply go to your desired database from our database list, or from the Find Articles tab of a Research Guide, and you'll be prompted to login. Once you have logged into one, you should be able to access others without logging in again. But eventually, your authentication will time out, and you'll need to log back in.

Log In Screen

Whether going through Discovery or a different database, you'll be prompted to log in on the standard Saint Anselm College log in screen that you see when logging into your SAC Outlook email or Canvas.

Log in with your Saint Anselm email and password. If you are already logged into your email or Canvas, you should not be prompted to log in again.

standard Saint Anselm College login page

Troubleshooting

If your question is not about the screen pictured above, please email the reference librarians at askanselm@anselm.edu.

In the meantime, you can also access library databases through Citrix. Just log into Citrix with your normal SAC username and password, open a browser there, and navigate to the library website, where you can then search as if you were on campus.

How do I reserve a study room?

How do I reserve a study room?

Stop by or call the Circulation Desk at 603-641-7300.

  • You can always drop in to see if a study room is available for use at that moment.
  • You or someone in your group must leave their student ID at the Circulation Desk to get the study room key.

Where are the restrooms?

Where are the restrooms?

Restrooms are located on the lower level of the library. Walk down the stairs ahead and to the left when you come in the building. Turn right to walk into the lower level. Turn right again, before you get to the shelves of DVDs, and another immediate right to access the restrooms.

Or, take the elevator to the lower level. The restrooms are straight ahead on the far wall, past the tables and shelves. Follow the signs.

Can I eat food in the library?

Can I eat food in the library?

You're welcome to enjoy snacks and covered beverages in the library, such as the items sold in the vending machines. 

Help keep your library clean. We ask that you do NOT bring in full meals, such as food in containers from Dining Services.

  • Does it glop, splodge, squidge, or splat? Probably not a good candidate for eating in the library.
  • Messy, noisy, and strong smelling food can be distracting to other students. 
  • Full meals detract from the cleanliness of your library, especially on weekends when we don't have janitorial service.
  • A clean library is important for preserving our materials and avoiding attracting pests.
  • Meals CAN be eaten in the foyer before entering the library.

If you do spill, please clean it up promptly. If you need paper towels, etc., feel free to ask library staff at any service desk.

See our full Food & Drink Policy for more details.

How can I get specialized help researching in my major or other subject?

How can I get specialized help researching in my major or other subject?

If you would like specialized help with doing library research in your major or other subject area, contact the librarian for that subject. We're happy to schedule appointments with you or work with you via email.

Biology Hannah Cabullo
Chemistry Hannah Cabullo
Classics Laura Gricius-West
Computer Science Melinda Malik
Criminal Justice Vacant - contact the Reference Desk
Economics & Business Vacant - contact the Reference Desk
Education Melinda Malik
English Vacant - contact the Reference Desk
Fine Arts Vacant - contact the Reference Desk
History Vacant - contact the Reference Desk
Humanities John Dillon
Mathematics Hannah Cabullo
Modern Languages Christine Clayton
Nursing Hannah Cabullo
Philosophy Laura Gricius-West
Physics Hannah Cabullo
Politics Vacant - contact the Reference Desk
Psychology Vacant - contact the Reference Desk
Sociology Hannah Cabullo
Theology John Dillon

 

Do you have a fax machine?

Do you have a fax machine?

Yes, we have a fax machine available to current students only. Visit the Periodicals Information Desk on the lower level for information on using the fax machine.

What do I do when I receive an email about an article/book I ordered through Interlibrary Loan?

What do I do when I receive an email about an article/book I ordered through Interlibrary Loan?

We send you emails regarding interlibrary loan requests for many reasons. Be sure to read your email thoroughly to determine why we have contacted you. For example:

  • Your material has been received and you need to pick it up at the circulation desk (books and films) or download it through your ILLiad (interlibrary loan) account (articles).
  • We canceled your request because we found the material in our databases or freely online and provided you a direct link.
  • We canceled your request because we were unable to find a library that could loan the material you requested.

Can I print from my laptop?

Can I print from my laptop?

Yes. Stop by the IT Help Desk for assistance in downloading the Print Anywhere software from your computer. Once you have the software installed, you may release your print job from any printer release station on campus. There are three in the library, one on each floor.

To print to the color printer on the main level, you must use one of the library computers.

How do I print to a color printer?

How do I print to a color printer?

We have one color printer located in the computer lab across from the IT Help Desk on the main level. You cannot print to the color printer from your laptop. You'll need to use one of the computer lab computers to submit your print job to the color printer.