Skip to Main Content Library Homepage College Homepage
Research Guides

Linking to Articles from Canvas: Instructions for Specific Databases

This guide explains how to find or create persistent links to articles in many of Geisel Library's full-text databases.

These instructions apply to databases that can be accessed from the Geisel Library website. You may also locate full-text articles in one of our online journal collections, either through using Journal Finder or WebBridge. For example, articles are available from Sage and Wiley InterScience. In general, the article links you encounter on these publisher-specific websites will be persistent, so they can be copied into Canvas.

CQ Researcher

  1. Run your search
  2. Click on the title of the desired report
  3. Scroll to the bottom of the report and look for the link labeled "Document URL"
  4. Copy this link into your Canvas page

Ebook Central [ProQuest]

  1. Run your search
  2. Click on the title of the desired book
  3. In the book QuickView, the URL in your Internet browser is a persistent link. You can copy it to your Canvas page.

EBSCO databases

Such as: Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, CINAHL, Communication and Mass Media Complete, and SocINDEX.

  1. Run your search
  2. Click on the title of the desired article
  3. To the right of the citation record, click on the link labeled "Permalink"
  4. Copy this URL into your Canvas page

Gale eBooks (Gale Virtual Reference Library)

  1. Run your search
  2. Click on the title of the desired article
  3. Click the "Get Link" link which appears above the article's full text
  4. Copy the URL from the pop-up window and paste it into your Canvas page

HeinOnline

  1. Run your search
  2. Click on the title of the desired article
  3. Click on the link icon in the toolbar above the article ("Permanent Link to this Page")
  4. Copy the URL from the pop-up window, combine it with the proxy prefix, and paste it into your Canvas page

Literature Resource Center

  1. Run your search
  2. Click on the title of the desired article
  3. Click the "Bookmark" link which appears above the article's full text
  4. Copy the bookmark URL from the pop-up window and paste it into your Canvas page

JSTOR

  1. Run your search
  2. Click on the title of the desired article
  3. Look for a link with "stable" in it (https://www.jstor.org/stable/...), which appears underneath the citation information on the left of the screen
  4. Copy this URL into your Canvas page

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)

  1. Run your search
  2. Click on the title of the desired article
  3. Click "Actions" dropdown menu near the top of the page, and click "Link to this page"
  4. Copy this URL into your Canvas page

Grove Art Online (Oxford Art Online)

  1. Run your search
  2. Click on the title of the desired article
  3. Look for the URL below the title and authors of the article
  4. Copy the URL into your Canvas page

Oxford Reference

  1. Run your search
  2. Click on the title of the desired article
  3. Above the full-text, click on the pencil-shaped "Cite" icon
  4. Copy the URL in the preview citation into your Canvas page

Project MUSE

  1. Run your search
  2. Click on the "View" icon beneath the title of the desired article
  3. In the full-text article view, the URL in your Internet browser is a persistent link. You can copy it to your Canvas page. Students can access the PDF version from that page

ProQuest databases

Such as: ABI-INFORM, ProQuest Central, ProQuest Newsstand, and Historical New York Times.

  1. Run your search
  2. Click on the title of the desired article
  3. Click on the "Abstract/Details" tab and scroll down to the Details
  4. Copy the URL that's labeled "Document URL" and paste it into your Canvas page

Times Digital Archive (Times of London)

  1. Run your search
  2. Click on the title of the desired article
  3. Scroll down to the "Source Citation" at the bottom
  4. Copy the URL in the source citation into your Canvas page