Research Guides: PS222 Life Beyond Earth: Find Articles

General Search Tips

These search tips work in our library databases and Library Catalog:

Combine keywords using AND and OR.
- Use AND for searching different ideas within your topic. E.g. astrophysics AND history
- Use OR for searching with synonyms of your keywords. E.g. (astrophysics OR astronomy) AND history
Abbreviate words with multiple endings using an asterisk (*). E.g. astrophysic* to search for astrophysics, astrophysical, and astrophysicist
Search specific phrases using quotation marks. E.g. "dark matter"
Change your search terms around to get different results.

Get Full-Text of Articles

If the full text of an article is not available in the database, here are tips for getting it elsewhere:

In the databases, click to see if the full text is:
- in another database,
- in Geisel Library's collection,
- or if you can request a copy via Interlibrary Loan.
Search the journal's name in Journal Finder to see if we have access to the year/volume/issue you need.
For more help, ask a librarian or see the FAQ on finding full text:

How do I get the full text of an article?

Search Discovery

Physics Databases

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Overviews of the latest primary research in biology, psychology, sociology, and the physical sciences.
**Library has recent full text access to 14 Annual Reviews and to the back files of over 30 Annual Review titles. Look for the checkmark to see which Annual Reviews are a part of the subscription.
Front file full text access to 14 Annual Reviews: Astronomy and Astrophysics; Biochemistry; Cell and Developmental Biology; Earth and Planetary Sciences; Econology, Evolution, and Systematics; Environment and Resources; Genetics; Microbiology; Neuroscience; Nuclear and Particle Science; Physical Chemistry; Phytopathology; Plant Biology; Sociology.
ArXiv This link opens in a new window
Electronic archive and distribution server for full-text research papers in physics, computer science, mathematics, and other scientific fields.

Note from Dr G: arXiv is an AMAZING resource for accessing peer-reviewed publications. However, not all arXiv papers are peer-reviewed, so do pay attention to the "Comments" which indicate if a particular work has been reviewed.

SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) This link opens in a new window
Citations to scholarly articles and reports in the areas of astronomy, astrophysics, physics and geophysics.
Science Database [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Contains approximately 1,000 full-text journals from the fields of biology, chemistry, physics, and the earth sciences.

Additional Databases

Academic Search Premier [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database is an excellent starting point for finding scholarly journal articles and popular magazine articles on a wide range of topics.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Use to find scholarly publications, including peer-reviewed papers, books, journal articles, and government reports. Use this entry point to link Google Scholar search results to Geisel Library collections (look for the WebBridge link to access full text or to place an Interlibrary Loan request).
JSTOR [ITHAKA] This link opens in a new window
Core interdisciplinary research database. Full text access is limited to backfiles (generally on a 5 year rolling wall basis).
Use Interlibrary Loan to request access to current content.
**Library subscribes to JSTOR collections: I-VII, AAF pamphlets, Biological Sciences, and 43K+ monographic titles
All other titles can be accessed via Interlibrary Loan.
MathSciNet [AMS] This link opens in a new window
Core index to the scholarly literature of mathematics, contains citations to journal articles, books, and conference proceedings.
MathSciNet is an electronic publication of the American Mathematical Society (AMS) offering access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Over 100,000 new items are added each year, most of them classified according to the Mathematics Subject Classification.
PsycINFO [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Core resource for accessing scholarly research in the field of psychology, including all aspects of behavioral science and mental health.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Free database of biomedical citations that includes the contents of Medline, plus additional material from life science and biochemistry journals. **Look for the WebBridge link to place an Interlibrary Loan request.
SocINDEX with Full Text [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Core database in sociology offering full text journal articles plus citations for books and conference papers dealing with all aspects of sociological studies.

Ask a Librarian!

Contact the Reference Desk

	Email askanselm@anselm.edu
	Chat
	Text (603) 556-8883
	Call (603) 641-7306
	Make an Appointment

Reference Desk Hours

Sunday	2:00PM - 10:00PM
Monday	11:00AM - 10:00PM
Tuesday	11:00AM - 10:00PM
Wednesday	11:00AM - 10:00PM
Thursday	11:00AM - 5:00PM
Friday	11:00AM - 3:00PM
Saturday	12:00PM - 5:00PM

FAQs

Explore More on Extraterrestrial Life

Astrobiology
NASA’s Astrobiology Program addresses three fundamental questions: How does life begin and evolve? Is there life beyond Earth and, if so, how can we detect it? What is the future of life on Earth and in the universe? In striving to answer these questions and improve understanding of biological, planetary, and cosmic phenomena and relationships among them, experts in astronomy and astrophysics, Earth and planetary sciences, microbiology and evolutionary biology, cosmochemistry, and other relevant disciplines are participating in astrobiology research and helping to advance the enterprise of space exploration.
The Planetary Society: Life in the Universe

Could humans be the only intelligent beings in all the vastness of the universe? Or are we just one humble race, a member of a vast intergalactic fraternity of advanced civilizations? SETI, the Search for Extraterrestrial Intelligence, is the scientific quest to answer these great unknowns. As of now all we have are questions, but we know the answers, when they come, could transform our world. Since the day it was formed in 1980, The Planetary Society has been there to support the search.