AC112 Cost Accounting: Search Tips and Strategies

The following search tips will get you started in locating relevant journal articles:

• Use boolean operators to connect keywords or search words to help you search online databases more effectively and efficiently.
  
  Use AND to connect two unlike words and narrow your search.
  
  Use OR to connect to like words and broaden your search.
  
  Use NOT to exclude a word from your search results.
  
  For further information about Boolean searching, please watch our 4 minute video.


• Use truncation symbols, usually an asterisk (*), to return results having all forms of a root term. For example:
  
  president* (use for president, presidents, and presidential)
  
  terror* (use for terror, terrors, and terrorism)
  
  wom*n (use for woman or women)

You will see a button when a pdf or html link does not accompany an article.  lets you know if the full-text is available:

• in another database
• in Geisel Library's print journal collection
• if you can request a copy via Interlibrary Loan

Definition:  A permalink is a web address that will consistently point to a specific information source such as an ebook, an article, a record in the catalog, a video, or a database. 

A permalink may also be called a stable link, durable link, persistent link, permanent link or document url, depending on the resource.

How do I find permalinks?

Most research databases include a permalink in the article record.  The terms used and the location of these links in the record vary from one database to another.

Where are the Permalinks in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts?

Permalinks for ProQuest articles are called Document URLs.

The document URL is found in the Indexing Details section located at the end of an article.