Research Guides: Public Health: Find Articles

How to Get Full Text of Articles

If the full text of an article is not available in the database, here are tips for getting it elsewhere:

In the databases, click to see if the full text is:
- in another database,
- in Geisel Library's collection,
- or if you can request a copy via Interlibrary Loan.
Search the journal's name in Journal Finder to see if we have access to the year/volume/issue you need.
For more help, ask a librarian or see the FAQ on finding full text:

How do I get the full text of an article?

Core Databases

Search the following databases to locate scholarly journal articles in the field of public health.

Public Health Database [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Starting point for public health information and research.
Includes current newspaper articles for uncovering timely results on the latest breaking topics pertaining to public health.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Core database for research in the nursing and allied health disciplines. Access full-text journal articles plus citations for books and conference proceedings.
Social Science Database [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and trade periodicals related to sociological research.
PsycINFO [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Core resource for accessing scholarly research in the field of psychology, including all aspects of behavioral science and mental health.
Biological Science Collection [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals spanning all aspects of the biological sciences. Merges Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE into one searchable database.
The database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources providing access to the extensive variety of biology’s cutting edge research, with applications to medicine, technology and the environment.
SocINDEX with Full Text [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Core database in sociology offering full text journal articles plus citations for books and conference papers dealing with all aspects of sociological studies.

Additional Databases

Depending on your topic, you may need to search other subject-specific databases. Following are some databases that overlap with public health:

Health & Medical Collection [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Access clinical research journals spanning all health care disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, nursing, and physical fitness.
Health and Wellness [GALE] This link opens in a new window
Access to thousands of full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. Provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices, and more.
Nursing & Allied Health Database [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly and trade journals related to the field of nursing. Also contains evidence-based resources, dissertations, and Medcom training videos.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Free database of biomedical citations that includes the contents of Medline, plus additional material from life science and biochemistry journals. **Look for the WebBridge link to place an Interlibrary Loan request.
MEDLINE via EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Core resource for high-level articles from journals related to medicine, dentistry, and the health care.
ScienceDirect - Health Sciences and Life Sciences Collections [ELSEVIER] This link opens in a new window
Collection includes full-text articles in top journals in the fields of agricultural and biological sciences, biochemistry, genetics, and molecular biology, environmental science, immunology and microbiology, neuroscience, medicine and dentistry, nursing and health, pharmacology, toxicology and pharmaceutical science, and veterinary science and veterinary medicine.
TOXLINE [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Citations scholarly journal articles in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens.