Research Guides: Special Education: Get Started

Start Here

The Praeger Handbook of Special Education

Encyclopedia of Special Education, Volume 1

A Reference for the Education of Children, Adolescents, and Adults Disabilities and Other Exceptional Individuals

The Praeger International Handbook of Special Education

3 vols.

Reference Databases

Didn't find what you were looking for in the books above? Try searching through one of our e-Reference database collections.

eBooks [GALE] This link opens in a new window
Core electronic reference collection, this collection of online subject encyclopedias provides in-depth articles on a wide range of topics, with an emphasis on the social sciences.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Learn about major issues from current and historical perspectives and the inner workings of the U.S. government from authoritative, accessible, and unbiased sources.
Credo Reference [INFOBASE] This link opens in a new window
Online reference database enables simultaneous searching of 100 scholarly reference works, across all areas of study.

Why Use Reference Sources?

Reference sources include encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries. They are a great place to begin your research, since they can help with the following:

Offer ideas for possible research topics
Give you background information on your topic
Define unfamiliar terms
Suggest keywords to use when searching for books and articles
Point you to books and articles on your topic, via "works cited" lists

Special Education: Get Started