Skip to Main Content Library Homepage College Homepage
Research Guides

AC411 Accounting Research Seminar: Business Examples

APA Rules for Specialized Business Sources

Many business resources consist of proprietary information. Therefore, access is limited to those who pay a subscription fee. Geisel Library has done this for you to ensure you have the best information to use for your research.

Basic Format

Author, A. A. (year). Title. Name of the Databases. URL of the database.

When using a specialized library business database that requires a login or is session specific...

  1. Include the database name.
  2. Provide the URL of the database home page or login page. DO NOT provide the URL for specific page you are citing. 
  3. Provide a description of the work in square brackets after the title and before the period.

Examples

Passport (Euromonitor)

A global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, and surveys on industries, countries and consumers worldwide.

 

Report

References

Euromonitor International. (2022a, January 18). Business dynamics: Australia. Passport Database.
        https://geisel.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.portal.euromonitor.com/portal/magazine/homemain

Euromonitor International. (2022b, August 16). Consumer lifestyles in Australia. Passport Database.
        https://geisel.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.portal.euromonitor.com/portal/magazine/homemain

In-text citation

...Millennials and Gen X are more excited about trying new products versus... (Euromonitor International, 2022b).

According to Euromonitor (2022a), Australia’s workforce stands among the global leaders in terms of higher education attainment and high-skilled labour" as of 2021 (n.p.).

Data

Reference

Euromonitor International. (2018, August). Australia, mobile phones, company shares, retail volume, 2013-2018
        [Data set]. Passport Database. https://geisel.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.portal.euromonitor.com/
        portal/magazine/homemain

In-text citation

In 2015, Apple comprised 56 percent of the retail mobile phone market in Australia (Euromonitor International, 2018).

Note: In APA, percent is spelled out rather than using the % symbol.

Annual Report from a company's web site

Reference

Whole Foods Market. (2011). 2010 annual report to shareholders.

       http://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/company/pdfs/ar10.pdf

In-text citation

Twelve new stores opened in Massachusetts during the third quarter of 2010 (Whole Foods Market, 2011, p. 76).

Business Source Premier with BSI (EBSCO)

Contains the same information as the Business Source Premier database, but with a specialized interface (BSI, business searching interface) that allows for easy access to Company Profiles, Country Reports, Industry Profiles, and Market Research Reports.

 

Report

Reference

MarketLine. (2019, March). MarketLine industry profile: Global pharmaceuticals. Business Source
          Premier Database. https://geisel.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?
          authtype=ip,uid&profile=bsi

In-text citation

The pharmaceuticals industry experienced mixed profits across markets due to changes in governmental regulations (MarketLine, 2019).