Skip to Main Content

Research Guides

Resources for Racial Justice: Teaching and Parenting

Teaching: Anti-Racism in Education

Brief Resources:

Institutionalized Racism: A Syllabus: How can we help students understand George Floyd’s death in the context of institutionalized racism?
“How Teachers Learn to Discuss Racism” by Melinda D. Anderson
“5 key anti-racism resources for teachers, courtesy of #CharlottesvilleCurriculum” by Julia Donheiser
Black Lives Matter at School - Teaching Materials

In-Depth Resources:

Race and Higher Education: rethinking pedagogy in diverse college classrooms by Annie Howell; Frank Tuitt
Call Number: C212.42 .R315 2005
ISBN: 9780916690380
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Education and Racism: a primer on issues and dilemmas by Zeus Leonardo; W. Norton Grubb
Call Number: Online via ProQuest
ISBN: 9780415891011
Publication Date: 2013-09-09

CTE: Diversity & Inclusion

Search Library Catalog for more print and electronic books related to Diversity in higher education:

Safe Enough Spaces: A Pragmatist's Approach to Inclusion, Free Speech, and Political Correctness on College Campuses by Michael S. Roth
Call Number: e-book JSTOR
ISBN: 9780300248722
Publication Date: 2019-09-23
Rethinking Diversity Frameworks in Higher Education by Edna B. Chun; Joe R. Feagin
Call Number: Taylor & Francis e-book LC212.4 .C48 2020eb
ISBN: 9781000024623
Publication Date: 2019-07-12
Creating the Path to Success in the Classroom: teaching to close the graduation gap for minority, first-generation, and academically unprepared students by Kathleen F. Gabriel; Stephen Carroll (Foreword by)
Call Number: LC3731 .G325 2018
ISBN: 9781579225568
Publication Date: 2018-04-16
The Splintering of the American Mind: identity politics, inequality, and community on today's college campuses by William Egginton
Call Number: HM1271 .E374 2018
ISBN: 9781635571332
Publication Date: 2018-08-28
Diversity Matters: race, ethnicity, & the future of Christian higher education by Karen Longman
Call Number: LC427 .D58 2017
ISBN: 9780891124542
Publication Date: 2017-08-01
Understanding Inclusion: core concepts, policy and practice by Richard Woolley (Editor)
Call Number: LC1200 .U53 2018
ISBN: 9781138241688
Publication Date: 2017-11-01
Sexual Harassment of Women: climate, culture, and consequences in academic sciences, engineering, and medicine by National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine; Policy and Global Affairs; Committee on Women in Science, Engineering, and Medicine; Committee on the Impacts of Sexual Harrassment in Academic Science, Engineering, and Medicine
Call Number: HQ1237.5.U6 S486 2018
ISBN: 9780309470872
Publication Date: 2018-09-01
Diversity and Motivation by Margery B. Ginsberg; Raymond J. Wlodkowski; Ginsberg
Call Number: LB2331 .G57 2009
ISBN: 9780787996116
Multiculturalism on Campus by Michael J. Cuyjet (Editor); Mary F. Howard-Hamilton (Editor); Diane L. Cooper (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781579224646
Rethinking Multicultural Education for the Next Generation by Nadine Dolby
Call Number: LC1099 .M49 2012
ISBN: 9780415896078
Teaching to Transgress by bell hooks
Call Number: LC196 .H66 1994
ISBN: 0415908078
Why Aren't We There Yet? by Raechele L. Pope (Editor); Vasti Torres (Editor); Jan Arminio (Editor)
Call Number: ONLINE via ebrary
ISBN: 9781579224653
A Guide to Faculty Development by Kay J. Gillespie (Editor); Douglas L. Robertson (Editor); William H. Bergquist (Afterword by)
Call Number: LB2331.72 .G55 2010
ISBN: 9780470405574
Education and Racism: A Primer on Issues and Dilemmas by Zeus Leonardo; W. Norton Grubb
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780415891004
Publication Date: 2013-09-04
Race and Higher Education by Annie Howell; Frank Tuitt
Call Number: LC212.42 .R315 2005
ISBN: 9780916690380
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Culturally Relevant Pedagogy: Clashes and Confrontations by Lisa Scherff; Karen Spector
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781607094203
Publication Date: 2010-11-16
Safe Spaces, Brave Spaces: Diversity and Free Expression in Education by John Palfrey; Alberto Ibargüen (Foreword by)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780262343664
Publication Date: 2017-10-06
Teaching for Diversity and Social Justice by Lee Anne Bell (Editor); Maurianne Adams (Editor); Pat Griffin (Editor)
Call Number: LC196.5.U6 T43 2007
ISBN: 9780415952002
Publication Date: 2007-04-05

Student Diversity at 4,725 Institutions
Looking at the Data.
Equity in 2020 Requires More Than a Diversity Statement
Ahmad, A.S. (2020). Chronicle of Higher Education.
Talking Over the Racial Divide: How much can a half-semester course shift a lifetime of experience?
Berrett, D. (2016). Chronicle of Higher Education.
Professors See Charlottesville as a Starting Point for Discussions on Race
Zamudio-Suaréz, F. (2017). Chronicle of Higher Education.
The Unwritten Rules of College
Berrett, D. (2015). Chronicle of Higher Education.
Are Campus Leaders Prepared for the Impact of the Racial Crisis?
Kezar, A., Fries-Britt, S. and Espinosa, L. (2020). Inside Higher Education.
Institutionalized Racism: A Syllabus: How can we help students understand George Floyd’s death in the context of institutionalized racism?
Halley, C. (2020). JSTOR Daily.
How Teachers Learn to Discuss Racism
Anderson, M. (2017). The Atlantic.
5 key anti-racism resources for teachers, courtesy of #CharlottesvilleCurriculum
Donheiser, J. (2017). Chalkbeat.org
Teaching Race and Social Justice at a Predominantly White Institution.
Bauer, K., & Clancy, K. (2018). Journal of Political Science Education, 14(1), 72–85.
With Great Privilege Comes Great Responsibility.
Dotter, A. (2019). Journal of the National Collegiate Honors Council, 20(1), 45–49.
Wicked Problems Forum: Immigration and Higher Education. Contours of a Storied Decolonial Pedagogy.
Chawla, D. (2018). Communication Education, 67(1), 115–120.
Socially just pedagogies and social justice: The intersection of teaching ethics at higher education level and social justice.
Klaasen, J. S. (2020). HTS Teologiese Studies/Theological Studies, 76(1), e1–e7.

Creating Inclusive College Classrooms (University of Michigan)
Presents an outline with planning considerations for creating an inclusive classroom setting.
Diversity and Inclusive Teaching (Vanderbilt University)
A series of tips and links about how to ensure that your classroom is inclusive.
Teaching in an Increasingly Multi-Cultural Setting: A Guide for Faculty (Carnegie Mellon)
Focusing on the differences between U.S. and International students, this guide addresses cultural differences that impact learning, studying, and classroom behavior.
General Suggestions on Teaching Students with Disabilities (UC Berkely)
Strategies to support students with disabilities.
Sensitivity To Women in the Contemporary Classroom (Harvard)
Strategies for supporting an inclusive classroom for women.
Teaching for Inclusion: Diversity in the College Classroom (UNC Chapel Hill)
Creating inclusive classrooms for all types of diversity, race and ethnicity, gender and sexuality, international and non-traditional students, students with disabilities, etc.
Sensitive Topics in the Classroom (UC Berkeley)
Tips to help with discussing sensitive topics in the classroom.

Crossing Borders by directed and produced by Arnd Wächter ; filmed by Jorge Sousa, Paul Pryor
Call Number: HM1211 .C76 2009
What's Race Got to Do with It? Social Disparities and Student Success by Producer: Jean Cheng; Executive Producer: California Newsreel
Call Number: LC1099.3 .W43 2006
Includes online toolkit and facilitators guide.

Raising Culturally Responsive Kids: Resources for Parenting

Brief Resources:

In-Depth Resources:

Raising white kids : bringing up children in a racially unjust America by Jennifer Harvey
Call Number: Online via ProQuest
ISBN: 9781501856433
Publication Date: 2017

CTE: Black Minds Matter

In order by book title

The Privileged Poor: how elite colleges are failing disadvantaged students by Anthony Abraham Jack
Call Number: LC210.5 .J33 2019
ISBN: 9780674976894
Publication Date: 2019-03-01
Race and Ethnic Relations on Campus: Understanding, Empowerment, and Solutions for College Students by Eric J. Bailey
Call Number: Gale eBooks
ISBN: 9781440854576
Publication Date: 2018-09-07
Black minds matter: Realizing the brilliance, dignity, and morality of Black males in education by Wood, J.L.
Call Number: C.T.E. Collection - Geisel Reading Room LC2717 .W58 2019
ISBN: 074427494X
Publication Date: 2019
Advancing Black Male Student Success from Preschool Through Ph. D. by J. Luke Wood (Editor); Shaun R. Harper (Editor)
Call Number: Online via Proquest Ebook Central
ISBN: 9781620361849
Publication Date: 2015-10-08
African American Male Students in PreK-12 Schools by Chance W. Lewis (Editor, Series edited by); James Moore (Editor); James A. Moore (Editor, Series edited by)
Call Number: Online via Proquest Ebook Central
ISBN: 9781783507832
Publication Date: 2014-05-28
Black American Males in Higher Education: Research, Programs and Academe by Henry T. Frierson (Editor); Willie Pearson (Editor); James H. Wyche (Editor)
Call Number: C.T.E. Collection - Geisel Reading Room LC2699 .B53 2009
ISBN: 9781849506434
Publication Date: 2009-12-04
CHAPTER:
Toldson, I. A., Braithwaite, R. L., & Rentie, R. J. - Promoting college
aspirations among school-age Black American males. (pp. 117-137)
Black Male(d): Peril and Promise in the Education of African American Males by Tyrone C. Howard; Pedro Noguera (Foreword by)
Call Number: C.T.E. Collection - Geisel Reading Room LC2731 .H68 2014
ISBN: 0807754919
Publication Date: 2013-12-28
Black Male Teachers: diversifying the United States' teacher workforce by Chance W. Lewis (Editor, Contribution by); Ivory Toldson (Editor); James L. Moore (Contribution by)
Call Number: Online via Proquest Ebook Central
ISBN: 9781781906224
Publication Date: 2013-04-23
CHAPTER:
Lewis, C. - Black male teachers’ path to U.S. K-12 classrooms:
Framing the national discussion. (pp. 3-
14)
Black Men in College: Implications for HBCUs and Beyond by Robert T. Palmer (Editor); J. Luke Wood (Editor)
Call Number: C.T.E. Collection - Geisel Reading Room LC2781 .P35 2012
ISBN: 9780415893831
Publication Date: 2011-12-06
CHAPTER:
Wood. J. L., & Palmer, R. T. (2012). Innovative initiatives and
recommendations for practice and future research: enhancing the status
of Black men in HBCUs and beyond. In R. T. Palmer & J. L. Wood (Eds.),
Black men in college: Implications for HBCUs and beyond (pp. 176-196). New
York: Routledge.
Building on Resilience by Fred A. Bonner II (Editor); Tim King (Foreword by)
Call Number: Online via Proquest Ebook Central
ISBN: 9781579229610
Publication Date: 2014-06-05
Men of Color in Higher Education: New Foundations for Developing Models for Success by Ronald A. Williams (Editor); Freeman A. Hrabowski (Foreword by); LeManuel Bitsóí (As told to); Edmund T. Gordon (As told to); Shaun R. Harper (As told to); Victor B. Sáenz (As told to); Robert T. Teranishi (As told to)
Call Number: C.T.E. Collection - Geisel Reading Room LC2781 .M46 2014
ISBN: 9781620361597
Publication Date: 2014-05-07
CHAPTER:
Harper, S. R. - (Re)setting the agenda for college men of color: Lessons learned from a 15-year movement to improve Black male student success. (pp. 116-143)
Punished: policing the lives of Black and Latino boys by Victor M. Rios
Call Number: HV7254.A7 O25 2011
ISBN: 9780814776384
Publication Date: 2011-06-27
General Collection
Talking about Race: Alleviating the Fear by Julie Landsman (Editor); Steven Grineski (Editor); Robert Simmons (Editor); William Ayers (Foreword by)
Call Number: C.T.E. Collection - Geisel Reading Room HT1506 .T35 2013
ISBN: 9781579225605
Publication Date: 2013-03-19
CHAPTER:
Sealey-Ruiz, Y. & Lewis, C. - Letters to our teachers: Black and Latino males write about race in the urban English classroom. (pg. 274-290)
Teaching Boys and Young Men of Color by J. Luke Wood; Frank Harris
Call Number: C.T.E. Collection - Geisel Reading Room E185.86 W66 2017
ISBN: 9780997218008
Publication Date: 2016-02-01
Teaching Men of Color in the Community College by Khalid Edd White; Frank Harris; J. Luke Edd Wood
Call Number: C.T.E. Collection - Geisel Reading Room LC2781 .W66 2015
ISBN: 0744229529
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Mismatch: how affirmative action hurts students it's intended to help, and why universities won't admit it by Richard Sander; Stuart Taylor
Call Number: LC213.52 .S26 2012
ISBN: 9780465029969
Publication Date: 2012-10-09
Handbook of Research on Multicultural Education by James A. Banks; Cherry A. McGee Banks
Call Number: LC1099.3 .H35 2004
ISBN: 9780787959159
Publication Date: 2003-11-17

In order by title

Apprehension to engagement in the classroom: Perceptions of Black males in the community college
Wood, J. L. (2014). International Journal of Qualitative Studies in Education, 27(6), 785-803.
more...less...
https://doi.org/10.1080/09518398.2014.901575
“Assume the position…you fit the description”: Psychosocial experiences and racial battle fatigue among African American male college students
Smith, W. A., Allen, W. R, & Danley, L. L. (2007). American Behavioral Scientist, 51, 551-578.
Black male college achievers and resistant responses to racist stereotypes at predominantly White colleges and universities
Harper, S. R. (2015). Harvard Educational Review, 85(4), 646-674.
Black males’ perceptions of the work–college balance: The impact of employment on academic success in the community college.
Wood, J. L., Harrison, J. D., & Jones, T. K. (2016). The Journal of Men’s Studies, 24(3), 326-343.
Black men, an endangered species: Who's really pulling the trigger?
Parham, T. A., & McDavis, R. J. (1987). Journal of Counseling & Development, 66(1), 24-27.
Boyz to men? Teaching to restore Black boys’ childhood.
Ladson Billings, G. (2011). Race Ethnicity and Education, 14(1), 7-15.
ORDER INTERLIBRARY LOAN
‘Building Us Up’: Supporting Black Male College Students in a Black Male Initiative Program
Brooms D.R. (2018) Critical Sociology. 44(1):141-155.
Capital identity projection: Understanding the psychosocial effects of capitalism on Blackmale community college students.
Wood, J. L., & Essien-Wood, I. (2012). Journal of Economic Psychology, 33(5), 984-995.
Capitalizing on leadership capacity: Gifted African American males in high school
Bonner, F. A., Jennings, M. E., Marbley, A. F., & Brown, L. A. (2008). Roeper Review, 30(2), 93-103.
College in Black and White: Campus environment and academic achievement of African American males
Davis, J. E. (1994). The Journal of Negro Education, 63(4), 620-633.
"Cool posing" on campus: A qualitative study of masculinities and gender expression among Black men at a private research institution.
Harris III, F., Palmer, R. T., & Struve, L. E. (2011). The Journal of Negro Education, 80(1), 47-62.
Ebony in the Ivory Tower: Trends in the socioeconomic status, achievement, and self-concept of Black male freshmen between 1971 and 2000
Griffin, K. A., Jayakumar, U. M., Jones, M. M., & Allen, W. R. (2010). Equity and Excellence in Education, 43(2), 232-248.
Engaging African American males in reading
Tatum, A. W. (2006). Educational Leadership, 63(5), 44.
Exploring challenges that threaten to impede the academic success of academically underprepared Black males at an HBCU
Palmer, R. T., Davis, R. J., & Hilton, A. A. (2009).Journal of College Student Development, 50(4), 429-445.
Factors influencing Black males’ preparation for college and success in STEM majors: A mixed methods study
Strayhorn, T. L. (2015). Western Journal of Black Studies, 39(1), 45-63.
‘It takes a village to raise a child’: The role of social capital in promoting academic success for African American men at a Black college
Palmer, R. T., & Gasman, M. (2008). Journal of College Student Development, 49(1), 52-70.
Niggers no more: A critical race counternarrative on Black male student achievement at predominantly White colleges and universities
Harper, S. R. (2009). International Journal of Qualitative Studies in Education, 22(6), 697-712.
Preventing delinquency and promoting academic success among school-age African American males
Toldson, I. A., Sutton, R. M., & Brown, R. L. F. (2012). Journal of African American Males in Education, 3(1), 12-27.
The prove-them- wrong syndrome: Voices from unheard African-American males in engineering disciplines
Moore, J. L. III, Madison-Colmore, O., & Smith, D. M. (2003). The Journal of Men’s Studies, 12(1), 61-73.
Queering masculinity: Manhood and Black gay men in college
Strayhorn, T. L. & Tillman-Kelly, D. L. (2013). Spectrum: A Journal on Black Men, 1(2), 83-110.
Racial microaggressions: The schooling experiences of Black middle-class males in Arizona’s secondary schools
Allen, Q. (2010). Journal of African American Males in Education, 1(2), 125-143.
The sociocultural benefits of writing for African American adolescent males
Tatum, A. W., & Gue, V. (2012). Reading & Writing Quarterly, 28(2), 123-142.
ORDER INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Success in these schools? Visual counternarratives of young men of color and urban high schools they attend
Harper, S. R. (2015). Urban Education, 50(2), 139-169.
Teaching Black boys in early childhood education: Promising practices from exemplar teachers
Essien, I. (2017). Journal of African American Males in Education, 8(2), 3-27.
Toward a model of retention and persistence for Black men at HBCUs
Palmer, R. T., Wood, J. L., & Arroyo, A. (2016). Spectrum: Journal on Black Men, 4(1), 5-20.
Toward a more anatomically complete model of literacy instruction: A focus on African American male adolescents and texts
Tatum, A. W. (2008). Harvard Educational Review, 78(1), 155-180.
The trouble with Black boys: The role and influence of environmental and cultural factors on the academic performance of African American males
Noguera, P. A. (2003). Urban education, 38(4), 431-459.
Understanding and reversing underachievement, low achievement, and achievement gaps among high-ability African American males in urban school contexts
Ford, D. Y., & Moore, J. L. (2013). The Urban Review, 45(4), 399-415.
Understanding racism through the eyes of African American male student-athletes
Singer, J. N. (2005). Race Ethnicity and Education, 8(4), 365-386.
ORDER INTERLIBRARY LOAN
(Un) doing hegemony in education: Disrupting school-to-prison pipelines for Black males
Dancy, T. E. (2014). Equity & Excellence in Education, 47(4), 476-493.
“What works?” Recommendations in transformation of Black male educational outcomes
Howard, T.C., Douglass, T., & Warren, C. (2016). Teachers College Record, 118(6), 1-10.
Why Black lives (and minds) matter: Race, freedom schools & the quest for educational equity.
Howard, T. C. (2016). The Journal of Negro Education, 85(2), 101-113.

Altering the pipeline to prison and pathways to postsecondary education.
Zamani-Gallaher, E. M., & Fuller, K. (2016). Champaign, IL: Office of Community College Research and Leadership, University of Illinois at
Urbana-Champaign.
Black Minds Matter: Supporting the Educational Success of Black Children in California
Oct 26, 2015 by Ed Trust - West

Last Updated: Nov 26, 2024 1:08 PM
URL: https://geiselguides.anselm.edu/racialjustice
Print Page

Subjects: Criminal Justice, Education, Faculty Resources, Sociology and Social Work

Tags: learning, racial justice, racism, social justice, teaching