Research Guides: HI333 Europe Since 1945: Find Articles

Journal Article Search Tips

As with the book catalogs, search the journal databases using keywords related to your topic, combining concepts together using the Boolean AND and OR operators.

Once you find pertinent articles, examine the subject headings that have been assigned to them and conduct subject searches on terms that seem the most relevant.

Also, make sure to read the bibliographies of articles to identify additional sources worth tracking down.

Get Full-Text of Articles

If the full text of an article is not available in the database, here are tips for getting it elsewhere:

In the databases, click to see if the full text is:
- in another database,
- in Geisel Library's collection,
- or if you can request a copy via Interlibrary Loan.
Search the journal's name in Journal Finder to see if we have access to the year/volume/issue you need.
For more help, ask a librarian or see the FAQ on finding full text:

How do I get the full text of an article?

Core Databases for Scholarly Research

Historical Abstracts [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to journal articles and books covering world history from 1450 to the present (excluding North America).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Core interdisciplinary research database. Full text access is limited to backfiles (generally on a 5 year rolling wall basis).
Use Interlibrary Loan to request access to current content.
**Library subscribes to JSTOR collections: I-VII, AAF pamphlets, Biological Sciences, and 43K+ monographic titles
All other titles can be accessed via Interlibrary Loan.
Academic Search Premier [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database is an excellent starting point for finding scholarly journal articles and popular magazine articles on a wide range of topics.

Additional Scholarly Journal Databases

Project MUSE - College Edition This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and article citations from over 100 journals, with a particular strength in literature, fine arts, history, and the humanities.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Core interdisciplinary database, contains full-text journal articles, newspaper articles, dissertations, and business and industry profiles.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Core resource for scholarly literature in political science and international relations.

European History Quarterly

The following is a table of contents feed from the latest issue of the European History Quarterly. You can access the full text of the English Historical Review in Geisel Library's Sage Journals Online Database.