Essay #4: Genre Criticism
Over the course of the semester, we have read several examples of genre criticism: literary criticism that discusses characteristics of an entire genre of fiction. Examples of this are "On Fairy-Stories," "Introduction to The Left Hand of Darkness," and the excerpts from Science Fiction in the 20th Century. Your textbook also contains genre criticism focusing on horror: "Introduction to Prime Evil." Now it's your chance to provide your insightful thesis about a genre of fiction and prove it with strong evidence. Make sure to focus on a limited thesis that you will be able to prove in the space allowed, plan sufficient time to do research and gather evidence, and fulfill all the requirements for this essay, which are listed in the questions and at the end of this handout.
1. In the "Introduction to The Left Hand of Darkness," Ursula K. Le Guin says that the purpose of science fiction is not to predict what will happen, but to "describe reality, the present world" (151). Edward James, in contrast, claims that the purpose of SF is to provide a particular type of emotional fulfillment, making the reader feel awe (104) and wonder (105), among other things. You may agree with one of these authors, or come up with your own theory about the purpose of SF. Using at least three SF stories we have read this semester, prove your position. You should also consider why we want to read literature that does this.
2. We have read many stories about journeys this semester. Consider the "journey" story as a separate genre. What is your definition of this genre? What elements does it have? How wide a range of stories belong in this genre? Pick at least three journey stories we have read this semester and compare or contrast these journeys and the themes the authors convey through them. Make sure you have an overall thesis about this genre that you remain focused on throughout your paper.
3. According to Tolkien, a fairy-story should provide fantasy, recovery, escape, and consolation. You may agree with this, or you may have your own ideas about what a fairy-story (or fantasy fiction in general) should provide. Using at least three of the works we have read this semester, prove that fantasy provides what you say it does. You should also consider why we want these things.
4. In the “Introduction to Prime Evil” in your textbook (which you would need to read to choose this topic), Douglas Winter seems to claim that horror contains some of the same qualities Tolkien says are in fairy-stories. Winter speaks of "escape" (12), a "happy ending" (14), and even suggests horror may provide recovery (13, 20). He also says horror "shows us something important about ourselves" (18), similar to the "the underlying reality or truth" discussed by Tolkien (71). You can take this topic in one of two directions.
(A) You may agree with Winter, or you may have your own ideas about what a horror story should provide. Using at least three works we have read this semester, prove that horror provides what you say it does. You should also consider why we want these things. The essay should include your definition of horror.
(B) You may agree or disagree with Winter and Tolkien. Do you believe fantasy and horror share many of the same key qualities, or do you believe they have quite different qualities? Compare or contrast horror and fantasy, focusing on several key traits. Use at least two fantasy and two horror stories we have read this semester. What effects do these two genres have?
5. According to Tolkien, a fantasy story must have a happy ending. According to Douglas Winter, in the “Introduction to Prime Evil” in your textbook, "Every horror story . . . has a happy ending (14). Stephen King, on the other hand, claims a horror story often has an ending in which "everything is turning to shit" (Danse Macabre, 43). You may agree or disagree with them and form your own thesis about the endings of these different types of stories. Using at least two fantasy and two horror stories we have read this semester, compare or contrast the endings of fantasy and horror stories. What feelings do these endings leave the reader with? What pleasures does each type of ending provide?
6. Many readers prefer science fiction over fantasy. Describe the pleasures specific to reading science fiction, as Tolkien did for fairy-stories. You will probably first want to define SF (you may create your own definition, use Darko Suvin's, or someone else's). Prove that these pleasures exist in SF by using at least three SF stories we have read this semester. (You may do this same question replacing "science fiction" with "horror" throughout.)
7. In "On Fairy-Stories," Tolkien says that fairy-stories are "about the aventures of man in the Perilous Realm" (9). What are the properties of this perilous realm, faerie? What qualities must it have? Using at least three stories we have read this semester, come up with a strong thesis about what faerie is and what function it serves in fantastic fiction. (You can define faerie any way you want; you may define it narrowly so that your discussion is limited to fantasy stories, or you may define it widely so that horror and science fiction stories we have read also involve faerie. But you should be very specific about the traits of faerie.)
8. In many stories we've read, characters travel to another world. What is the relationship between the main character and this world to which he travels? Does the other-world landscape reflect some aspect of the main character--his fear, desire, internal conflict? Does it pose some particular kind of challenge to the main character? Using at least three stories we have read this semester, come up with a strong thesis about the relationship between other worlds and main characters in fantastic fiction (this may include fantasy, horror, and science fiction). Why do authors create other worlds in this way? What do they contribute to the stories?
9. Many stories, in all genres, involve bad characters getting what they deserve or facing justice. Let's call them "comeuppance" stories, since the character gets his comeuppance. We have read a number of these stories this semester. What effect do fantastic elements (in fantasy, science fiction, or horror) have on comeuppance stories? How do the fantastic elements contribute to the plots? How do they help to reveal the faults or transgressions of the characters? How do they help to reveal the themes? Using at least three stories we have read this semester, come up with a strong thesis about fantasy, science fiction, and horror stories that fit into this genre of comeuppance stories.
10. We've read a number of stories involving relationships between characters. Relationships may be constructive, offering love and support; destructive, filled with hatred and conflict; or any number of possibilities in between. A person may love someone who doesn't deserve his love, or someone who abuses his love. Is there some overall pattern in the way relationships are portrayed in different genres? Using at least two fantasy and two horror stories we have read this semester, compare or contrast the relationships shown. What themes do these genres convey about human relationships and the human condition? (You may do this same question replacing "horror" with "science fiction.")
Specifics
*Length: 1500 words minimum; 2500 words maximum. Be aware that you may need more than 1500 words to do a thorough job on any of these topics
*MLA format required, including Works Cited page
*If you want to do any topic not on this list, you must get my approval
*You must use at least three nonfiction sources outside those we have read for class. These must be reputable sources and should help provide proof or support for your argument. You should not simply re-argue their points in your paper. At least one of these must be an academic source. While you may quote from regular dictionaries and encyclopedias in your essay, they will not count toward this research requirement.
*You may quote from the various essays of genre criticism we have read for class, as additional support for your argument
*You must use at least three fiction examples to prove your thesis, and fulfill whatever requirements are in the question itself
*You may use more than three fiction examples, including movies, TV shows, stories, or novels that we haven't read in class
*You must make sure the discussion of works that we have read this semester forms the major part of your essay
*Draft: Your draft should be the best you can make it without receiving feedback from others. You must turn in your draft with significant prewriting, a short outline, and Essay Attachment Part 1. You must also bring copies of the draft for your group members.
*Revision: Your revision should show that you have re-thought all elements of your draft, taking into account the feedback you have received, and made significant changes. You must turn in your revision in a folder with your prewriting, outline, revision notes, all previous drafts, reader's responses, and Essay Attachment Part 2.
-------------------------------------------end Essay #4 handout-------------
Working Bibliography for Essay #4
Due 4/8
Essay #4 requires that you do research. To help you organize this, I want you to make a list of all sources you may use in your paper (this does not mean you have to use them). That is called a working bibliography. This is a good way to get started on your research and organize your materials and ideas. You'll need this information anyway for your Works Cited page. Follow the two steps below to create your working bibliography.
1. Before you look at different possible research sources, you should have a tentative thesis. You can always change it as you develop your ideas, but without some sense of what your focus will be, you won't be able to find useful research to support your position. You'll just waste a lot of time looking at unrelated material.
At the top of your working bibliography, type in the following: the general subject you have chosen from the Essay #4 assignment sheet, the specific issue you intend to focus on, the research question, and the tentative thesis. Here's an example:
General Subject: Insanity in horror
Specific Issue: Themes arising from insanity in horror
Research Question: What themes commonly arise from horror stories focusing on insanity?
Tentative Thesis: Many horror stories focus on insanity, revealing our fear of being overwhelmed by the world and our fear of being overwhelmed by our own passions.
Have these in front of you as you examine sources, so you remain focused on your research question and on finding evidence/opinions to support your thesis.
The fastest way to see if a book will be a useful research source is to look at the index or table of contents to see if it contains relevant material.
If it does, consider the following three questions:
--How does this material address your research question?
--In what ways does it provide support for your thesis?
--How might particular quotes help support your thesis?
2. Below the general subject, specific issue, research question, and tentative thesis, set up your bibliography exactly like a Works Cited page, with all the same information, and one additional point: after each entry, insert a few sentences describing the source and how it might contribute to your essay. Specifically, see if you can address the three questions I just listed above; that should help you as you write your essay. You should include in your bibliography both fiction and nonfiction sources (including stories and essays we have read in class), and any TV shows or movies you expect to discuss.
You should list at the very minimum three fiction sources and four nonfiction sources.
If you need further guidance on creating Works Cited entries, check my "MLA Citations" handout or visit this Geisel Library Web page: http://www.anselm.edu/Library/Research-Help.htm