Find Articles - CJ101-- Debate Topic Research - Humphrey - Research Guides at Saint Anselm College

Supplemental Resources

Academic Search Premier [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
A broad index providing abstracts and some full-text for a range of academic areas, including criminal justice.
Social Science Database [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and full-text of a broad range of Criminal Justice related areas.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
This database offers current, in-depth reports on issues such as Youth Violence, Wrongful Convictions, Serial Killers, and Gun Rights, from a non-partisan perspective. Each report includes background information, tables and charts, pro/con discussion, and suggestions for further reading.

Get Full-Text of Articles

If the full text of an article is not available in the database, here are tips for getting it elsewhere:

In the databases, click to see if the full text is:
- in another database,
- in Geisel Library's collection,
- or if you can request a copy via Interlibrary Loan.
Search the journal's name in Journal Finder to see if we have access to the year/volume/issue you need.
For more help, ask a librarian or see the FAQ on finding full text:

How do I get the full text of an article?

Core Databases

Search the following databases to locate journal articles in the field of Criminal Justice.

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts of journals, books, and federal and state government reports in criminal justice and related disciplines. (1968–present)
Criminal Justice Database [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Abstracts to a healthy mix of scholarly and trade journal articles related to criminal justice research.

Legal Research Databases

For more in-depth help with legal research, also check How to Find: Legal Information

Westlaw Campus Research [THOMSON REUTERS] This link opens in a new window
Core database of legal materials, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; includes the legal encyclopedia American Jurisprudence 2nd and American Law Reports; case law from 1789 to present; current statutes and regulations. Documents can also be accessed through broad subject categories such as Civil Rights, International Law and Environmental Law.
Congressional Publications [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Use to access the Congressional Record Bound Edition (1789 - present), Committee Prints and Publications (2014-2017), and CRS Reports (2014-2017).
Also available is ProQuest's Congress in Context which contains congressional profiles that give historical context to each Congressional term (party divisions, leadership, economic conditions, and major events).
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Access to over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical and reference publications (most full-text, the rest abstracted), primarily newspapers, magazines and journals.
Covers local, regional and international newspapers (in English and non-English languages). Includes broadcast transcripts, case law, legal codes, regulations, Shepard's Citations to Supreme Court cases (back to 1789), company financial information, and SEC filings and reports.

Additional Databases

Below is a list of databases that, depending on your topic you may need to consult. For assistance in choosing a database feel free to contact the Criminal Justice Librarian

CINAHL Plus with Full Text [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
This will help the researcher to locate health care and nursing articles pertaining to the criminal justice system.
ERIC [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
This database contains much information concerning juvenile justice subjects.
PsycINFO [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
This database from the American Psychological Association supplies indexing and abstracts from 1887 to the present for journals, plus English-language books and book chapters from 1987. Use to locate articles on crime, victimization, forensic psychology, antisocial behavior, etc.
SocINDEX with Full Text [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, books, and conference papers in sociology and related fields, including information on social problems, crime, law enforcement, delinquency, corrections, and more.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
A search of 'Criminal Justice' yields almost 2000 results in this database.

Locating Law Review Articles

Law Reviews are periodicals that produce scholarly articles that explore various legal issues in-depth. You may find them very useful for debate arguments, and background resources. LexisNexis provides full-coverage of Law Review Journals -- but you need to follow these steps to search them:

Click on link for Lexis-Nexis below.
Click on US Legal on the left vertical bar
Click on Law Reviews