Research Guides: Literary Criticism: Find Articles

Get Full-Text of Articles

If the full text of an article is not available in the database, here are tips for getting it elsewhere:

In the databases, click to see if the full text is:
- in another database,
- in Geisel Library's collection,
- or if you can request a copy via Interlibrary Loan.
Search the journal's name in Journal Finder to see if we have access to the year/volume/issue you need.
For more help, ask a librarian or see the FAQ on finding full text:

Academic Search Premier [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database is an excellent starting point for finding scholarly journal articles and popular magazine articles on a wide range of topics.
Literature Resource Center [GALE] This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text journal articles, biographical information on authors, plot summaries of literary works, and literature criticism.
MLA International Bibliography [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Core database for literary research, includes citations to articles and books related to literature, language, and folklore.
JSTOR [ITHAKA] This link opens in a new window
Core interdisciplinary research database. Full text access is limited to backfiles (generally on a 5 year rolling wall basis).
Use Interlibrary Loan to request access to current content.
**Library subscribes to JSTOR collections: I-VII, AAF pamphlets, Biological Sciences, and 43K+ monographic titles
All other titles can be accessed via Interlibrary Loan.
Project MUSE - College Edition This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and article citations from over 100 journals, with a particular strength in literature, fine arts, history, and the humanities.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Core interdisciplinary database, contains full-text journal articles, newspaper articles, dissertations, and business and industry profiles.

America: History and Life [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Locate abstracts to journal articles and books focusing on United States and Canadian history and culture.
Communication & Mass Media Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Core citation and index database for the fields of communication and media studies.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance [UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO] This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographical information pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance.
The library subscribes to two databases:

Iter Bibliography comprises secondary source material pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books and journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for dissertation abstracts and essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).

Iter Italicum is the online edition of Paul Oskar Kristeller's six-volume set, the most comprehensive finding list available of previously uncatalogued or incompletely catalogued Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections all over the world.