Iconography is the branch of art history which studies the identification and the interpretation of the content of images. It can also mean a particular depiction of a subject in terms of the content of the image, such as a saint, the number of figures, their placing and gestures.
Who is the artist and when did he live? What is the subject of this painting? Who are the figures? What is the source of the story depicted in this painting? Does the location of the work add meaning to the artwork?
Materials on this page will assist you as you begin to look at images and construct meaning from their depiction.
Animals as Disguised Symbols in Renaissance Art
Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art
The understanding and enjoyment of a work of art depends as much on the story it depicts as on the artist’s execution of it. But what were once biblical or classical commonplaces are not so readily recognizable today. This book relates in a succinct and readable way the themes, sacred and secular, on which the repertoire of Western art is based. Combined here in a single volume are religious, classical, and historical themes, figures of moral allegory, and characters from romantic poetry that appeared throughout paintings and sculpture in Western art before and after the Renaissance. More than just a dictionary, this text places these subjects in their narrative, historical, or mythological context and uses extensive cross-referencing to enhance and clarify the meanings of these themes for the reader.
The definitive work by which others are compared, this volume has become an indispensable handbook for students and general appreciators alike. This wholly redesigned second edition includes a new insert of images chosen by the author, as well as a new preface and index to highlight the ideas, beliefs, and social and religious customs that form the background of much of this subject matter.
Dictionary of Symbols in Art
Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography
From Abacus to Zeus : A Handbook of Art History
This new illustrated glossary and iconographical guide presents a wealth of information bearing on the history of the visual arts. Here are concise definitions and explanations for each of the most common terms encountered in the study of art history. Dr. Pierce has included entries on art media, techniques, processes, and principles, including color terminology, perspective, and principles of architectural construction, among other topics. In addition, individual sections are devoted to the iconography of the most frequently represented mythological and Christian subjects. From Abacus to Zeus is designed especially to accompany H. W. Janson's outstanding History of Art in art history, humanities, and art appreciation courses. Almost all entries are keyed to figures and colorplates in the Janson text, and many of the line drawings in the Handbook are based on works reproduced in Janson's book. The Handbook's broad range of coverage, clear explanations, and convenient dictionary form, make it an ideal reference work for independent study as well.
How to Read Italian Renaissance Painting by 
Iconology
The Oxford Companion to Christian Art and Architecture
Signs and Symbols in Christian Art
First published in 1954 and having gone through several editions, this comprehensive book remains the authoritative source in the study of symbols in Christian art. This paperback edition includes all of the three hundred fifty illustrations from the original edition, as well as the complete and unabridged text, revealing . the symbolism inherent in representations of religious personages, the Earth and Sky, animals, birds, insects, and flowers. In addition to a discussion of objects treated symbolically in Christian art, George Ferguson explores Old Testament characters and events and their symbolic representation in art. In addition to a discussion of objects treated symbolically in Christian art, George Ferguson explores Old Testament characters and events and their symbolic representation in art.
 |
Email askanselm@anselm.edu |
 |
Chat |
 |
Text (603) 556-8883 |
 |
Call (603) 641-7306 |
 |
Make an Appointment |
| Sunday | 2PM - 10PM |
| Monday | 11AM - 10PM |
| Tuesday | 11AM - 10PM |
| Wednesday | 11AM - 10PM |
| Thursday | 11AM - 5PM |
| Friday | 11AM - 3PM |
| Saturday | 12PM - 5PM |
