Classics: Other Sources of Info

Digitized reference maps related to ancient civilizations such as Greece, Egypt, and the Roman Empire. Download maps as PDFs.

Built using ArcGIS Online, AWMC Interactive allows users to view geospatial data from the Mapping Center, the Pleiades Gazetteer, and other partners without the need for specialized GIS software or training.

"Allows innovative spatial and temporal analyses of all aspects of the civilizations of western Eurasia in the first 1500 years of our era, as well as the generation of original maps illustrating differing aspects of ancient and medieval civilization."

Searchable database of English translations of inscriptions from ancient Athens and Attica.

Correlates the multiple editions of published Greek inscriptions.

"Allows access to the collection of squeezes, photographs and bibliographical references maintained by the CIL research centre, sorted by inscription-number." In addition, digitizations of the volumes published before 1940 can be viewed at Arachne, the object database of the Deutsches Archäologisches Institut.

Texts and archaeological context of inscribed lead tablets from Roman Britain.

Provides texts and bibliographic citations for “nearly all Latin inscriptions."

Single search interface to major epigraphical projects, which can also be searched separately, if needed.

Early Christian inscriptions from Asia Minor and Greece. Provides the original text and a translation of the inscription, including commentary and bibliographic references. Images and/or facsimiles are provided when available.

Early Christian inscriptions from Asia Minor and Greece. Provides the original text and a translation of the inscription, including commentary and bibliographic references. Images and/or facsimiles are provided when available.

Around 2 000 inscriptions are now known from the site, full of information both about the life of the city and that of the Roman Empire.

Significant collection of Greek inscriptions culled from a variety of publications.

Online edition of the Vindolanda writing tablets excavated from the Roman fort at Vindolanda in northern England.

Simple database linking to images and descriptions of all fully digitized Greek manuscripts.

Comprehensive annotated bibliography by Immaculada Pérez Martín from Oxford Bibliographies Online.

Attempts to provide a single search interface for all digitized and electronically cataloged papyrus collections in Germany.

"A ready bibliography of all monographic volumes, both current and out-of-print, of Greek, Latin, Demotic and Coptic documentary texts on papyrus, parchment, ostraca or wood tablets."

Single search interface integrates metadata, transcriptions, translations and images from important sources of documentary papyri. Papyri.info aggregates material from the Advanced Papyrological Information System (APIS), Duke Databank of Documentary Papyri (DDbDP), Heidelberger Gesamtverzeichnis der griechischen Papyrusurkunden Ägyptens (HGV), Bibliographie Papyrologique(BP), and depends on close collaboration with Trismegistos, for rigorous maintenance of relationship mapping and unique identifiers. Work is in progress to incorporate content from the Arabic Papyrological Database (APD) as well.

Database of metadata and, when available, links to images of "all published and semi-published texts from Egypt and the Nile valley, between roughly BC 800 and 800 AD.

(i.e., "texts that were intended to reach the eyes of a reading public ..."

Online table of contents for all Oxyrhynchus volumes and digital images of the papyri from v. 15 on. Basic metadata but no transcriptions. See the Location lists for locating the papyri of the early volumes (1-18). Also, see here for the images of three other important Oxford collections: P. Ant., P. Herc. and Suppl. Mag.

Database to networked open access data relevant to the study and public presentation of the Ancient Near East and the Ancient Mediterranean world. Also, follow developments related to the digital humanities at ABZU's blog,The Ancient World Online (AWOL).

Full-text book reviews covering all aspects of classical scholarship.

"DIR is an on-line encyclopedia on the rulers of the Roman empire from Augustus (27 BC–AD 14) to Constantine XI Palaeologus (1449–1453).... The contents of DIR have been prepared by scholars... [and] have been peer-reviewed for quality and accuracy before publication on this site."

Lists “concise information on projects applying computing technologies to Classical/Ancient Historical research.”

Compiled by Maria C. Pantelia, University of California Irving
This is an extensive annotated and evaluative list of classics resources on the Web. Resources include: gateways, links, databases and Web projects, home pages, e-publications, images, e-text archives and much more.

Collection of encyclopedia entries, maps, and bibliographies on history and culture

"The Web site is based on the museum's vast holdings of pictures, field notes, plans, and artifacts from the MFA-Harvard excavation (1902–47) directed by George Reisner.

Web versions of nearly 500 works of classical literature in English translation. Most are from ancient Greece and Rome, plus a handful of ancient Chinese and Persian works.

Directory of recommended classical studies-related websites

The Roman Empire timeline is a long, complex, and intricate tale covering nearly 22 centuries. Here is a snapshot of the battles, emperors, and events that shaped that story.

Collection of translations of works of ancient Greek and Roman literature. The theme of the library is classical mythology and so the selection consists primarily of ancient poetry, drama and prose accounts of myth.

Profiles each deity and creature of Greek mythology on a separate page, incorporating an encyclopedia summary, quotations from a wide selection of ancient Greek and Roman texts, and illustrations from ancient art.