Reference sources include encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries. They are a great place to begin your research, since they can help with the following:
The Oxford Classical Dictionary
The full text of the fourth edition of this classic work, published in 2012.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome offers a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world—Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman—from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE.
Classical Studies: a guide to the reference literature by
Expanded annotated bibliography of book-length reference works, covering the rise and fall of the Greek and Roman civilizations from the Bronze Age through the 6th century AD. While preference has been given to English-language works, many important titles in French, German, Italian, and Spanish have also been included. There is also increased coverage of ancient philosophy, religion (including early Christianity), and art and archaeology. Late Antiquity, a major growth area in classical studies, has also received more attention.
Ancient Writers: Greece and Rome
Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World
Cambridge Ancient History
Comprehensive coverage of all aspects of the history of the ancient Mediterranean and Near East from prehistoric times to AD 600.
Classical Studies
Jenkins offers a newly revised and expanded annotated bibliography of book-length reference works, covering the rise and fall of the Greek and Roman civilizations from the Bronze Age through the 6th century AD. While preference has been given to English-language works, many important titles in French, German, Italian, and Spanish have also been included. There is also increased coverage of ancient philosophy, religion (including early Christianity), and art and archaeology. Late Antiquity, a major growth area in classical studies, has also received more attention. Core resource for reference librarians, students, and classical scholars working outside their immediate areas of specialization.
Crowell's Handbook of Classical Mythology
Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy
Presents 270 articles on major and minor figures and on topics of importance to the philosophy of Greek and Roman antiquity.
Homer Encyclopedia
The Homer Encyclopedia represents the first comprehensive reference work encompassing the world and artistry of Homer, the historical and cultural background of the Iliad and the Odyssey, Homeric scholarship, and Homeric reception from antiquity to the present.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt
The Encyclopedia offers the most complete picture available of ancient Egyptian civilization, from the predynastic era to its eclipse in the seventh century CE.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the near East
This comprehensive five-volume work analyzes the archaeological and linguistic data that pertain to the broad cultural milieu of the ancient Near East, the crossroads of three of the world's most influential religions--Judaism, Christianity, and Islam. Ranging from prehistoric times up to the early centuries of the rise of Islam, the work covers the civilizations of Syria-Palestine, Mesopotamia, Anatolia, Iran, Arabia, Cyprus, Egypt, and the coastal regions of North and East Africa.
Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites
Who's who in the ancient world
For those who would like to understand references to the ancient world, this text provides: concise life histories of the major dramatists, politicians, poets and philosophers; entries on Greek and Roman gods; facts about major figures; and summaries of myths and legends.
 |
Email askanselm@anselm.edu |
 |
Chat |
 |
Text (603) 556-8883 |
 |
Call (603) 641-7306 |
 |
Make an Appointment |
A Greek-English Lexicon
Oxford Latin Dictionary