Research Guides: Education: ED250

Research Starters

Use the search box on the library's home page.

ARTSTOR on JSTOR [ITHAKA] This link opens in a new window
Diverse collections of high-quality images, curated from leading museums and archives around the world that are rights-cleared for education and research, and include Open Access content as well as rare materials not available elsewhere.
Grove Art Online [OXFORD] This link opens in a new window
Core reference source for fine arts. Searchable images made available through Oxford's partnerships with museums, galleries, and arts organizations.
Grove Music Online [OXFORD] |**ONE USER AT A TIME** This link opens in a new window
Music encyclopedia, offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship.
Includes access to the full text of the Oxford Companion to Music and the Oxford Dictionary of Music.

research literature/scholarship that investigates the pros and cons of arts integration and arts education.
include minimum of 3 scholarly articles as well as magazine articles and opinion pieces
create 3-5 page annotated bibliography

TOPIC IDEA: music education and academic achievement

create a personal artistic presentation rooted within a particular art form/s (e.g. drama, music, dance, storytelling, puppetry, photography, the creation of a graphic novel, performance art, etc.)
use the arts as a means of researching / theorizing / learning about a particular concept, big idea, or essential question

TOPIC IDEA: dance to teach ?? (something? what? IDK)