Research Guides: CH130 General Chemistry: Find Sources

Start Your Search

The Discovery search on the library homepage is a good place to get started. It has news, magazine, and scholarly journal articles, as well book and ebooks.

This is the same as the main search box on the library homepage.

Science-Specific Library Resources

These databases focus on information about science.

Access Science [MCGRAW-HILL] **ACCESS ENDS DEC 30 2024 This link opens in a new window
Contains the complete McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, plus links to relevant news stories, multimedia items, and dictionary definitions.
ACS Academic Core Package This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the front-file of 18 American Chemical Society journals, their Style Guide, and citations to articles from all ACS publications including the ACS Legacy Archives.
The 18 titles include: Accounts of Chemical Research, Analytical Chemistry, Biochemistry, Chemical and Engineering News, Chemical Reviews, Environmental Science and Technology, Inorganic Chemistry, Journal of the American Chemical Society, Journal of Chemical Education, Journal of Medicinal Chemistry, Journal of Organic Chemistry, Journal of Physical Chemistry A, Journal of Physical Chemistry B, Journal of Physical Chemistry C, Langmuir, Macromolecules, Nano Letters, Organic Letters.
Environmental Studies and Policy: Gale OneFile [GALE] This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference sources covering environmental issues and policies. The database includes diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests.
Science: Gale In Context [GALE] This link opens in a new window
Contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics.
The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Science Database [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Contains approximately 1,000 full-text journals from the fields of biology, chemistry, physics, and the earth sciences.
TOXLINE [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Citations scholarly journal articles in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens.

Library Catalog: Books & Ebooks

Library Catalog: Books and Ebooks

Depending on your topic, the library may have one or more books on it. Try a basic keyword search such as molasses flood or Fukushima.

This box searches the library catalog.

How to Get Full Text of Articles

If the full text of an article is not available in the database, here are tips for getting it elsewhere:

In the databases, click to see if the full text is:
- in another database,
- in Geisel Library's collection,
- or if you can request a copy via Interlibrary Loan.
Search the journal's name in Journal Finder to see if we have access to the year/volume/issue you need.
For more help, ask a librarian or see the FAQ on finding full text:

How do I get the full text of an article?

Additional Library Resources

Multi-disciplinary databases that provide access to scholarly journal articles, popular magazine articles, newspaper articles, etc.

Academic Search Premier [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database is an excellent starting point for finding scholarly journal articles and popular magazine articles on a wide range of topics.
ProQuest Central [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Core interdisciplinary database, contains full-text journal articles, newspaper articles, dissertations, and business and industry profiles.
Access World News Research Collection [NEWSBANK] This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive news collection ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, and national level. Diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Access to over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical and reference publications (most full-text, the rest abstracted), primarily newspapers, magazines and journals.
Covers local, regional and international newspapers (in English and non-English languages). Includes broadcast transcripts, case law, legal codes, regulations, Shepard's Citations to Supreme Court cases (back to 1789), company financial information, and SEC filings and reports.

Library Database Search Tips

The following search tips will get you started in locating relevant sources in library databases (including the main library search box):

Pick out the main ideas or keywords related to your topic. Typing in a whole question or phrase won't work as well as it does in Google.

Use boolean operators to connect keywords or search words to help you search online databases more effectively and efficiently.

Use AND to connect two dissimilar words and narrow your search.

Use OR to connect two similar words and broaden your search.

Use NOT to exclude a word from your search results.

Use truncation symbols, usually an asterisk (*), to return results having all forms of a root term. For example:

diet* (use for diet, diets, dietary, dietician)

wom*n (use for woman or women)