Skip to Main Content Library Homepage College Homepage
Research Guides

CM115 Introduction to Mediated Communication: Search Tips

These search tips work in our library databases and Library Catalog.

Basic Search Tips

  1. Combine keywords using Boolean Operators:  AND, OR, NOT.
    • Use AND for searching different ideas within your topic. For example:
      teenagers AND social media
    • Use OR for searching with synonyms of your keywords. For example:
      (teenagers OR youth) AND social media
    • Use NOT to exclude keywords from your search. For example:
      ((teenagers OR youth) AND social media) NOT Facebook 
  2. Abbreviate words with multiple endings/spellings by using an asterisk (*).
    • Use teen* to search teen, teens, teenager, and teenagers. For example:
      ((teen* OR youth) AND social media) NOT Facebook
  3. Search specific phrases using quotation marks.
    • Use "social media" to search for the phrase social media rather than each word separately. For example:
      ((teen*OR youth) AND "social media") NOT Facebook
  4. Experiment with keywords to get different results.
  5. Search in multiple databases.

Advanced Search Strategies

  1. Use the following features available in most online databases and catalogs:
    • Limiters / Filters - These are often located on the top or sides of a search screen and allow you to limit or filter your search along some type of criteria, such as:
      • Publication date
      • Type of source -- book, ebook, magazine, peer-reviewed/scholarly journal, newspaper, streaming media, audio, etc.
      • Subject
      • Language
    • Thesaurus / Index / Subject Headings - These are often located at the top of the search screen and allow you to identify specific search terms or phrases used within the database. These are always specific to each database and are helpful when you're unfamiliar with the terminology used by scholars and researchers within any given discipline.
    • Cited References /  Times Cited in this Database - These are frequently listed with each search result and allow you to see what articles are cited within the article in the search result (Cited References), as well as articles that have cited in their research the article in the search result (Times Cited in this Database). 
    • WebBridge - This is a "link resolver." When you click on the WebBridge button, a search in initiated within all of the library's online databases to find the full-text of the article. A page will open that either provides you a link to the full-text in another database, or with a link for you to order the article through InterLibrary Loan.
  2. InterLibrary Loan - This is a FREE service to you in which you submit a request for the library to order a book, book chapter, article, etc. from another library.
  3. Journal Finder - This is a specialized search engine that allows you to search for a specific journal by it's TITLE to see if the library has access to it in one of it's many databases. This is especially helpful if you learn about an article in a journal from somewhere outside the library and you want to see if the library has it freely available for you.
  4. Google Scholar - This is a specialized search engine provided by Google that allows you to search for scholarly books and articles using the power of Google search algorithm. NOTE: Be sure to evaluate what you find to ensure articles are peer-reviewed and books are available to you in full-text (most will only provide you a brief preview).

If the full text of an article is not available in the database, here are tips for getting it elsewhere:

  • In the databases, click   to see if the full text is:
    • in another database, 
    • in Geisel Library's collection, 
    • or if you can request a copy via Interlibrary Loan.
  • Search the journal's name in Journal Finder to see if we have access to the year/volume/issue you need.
  • For more help, ask a librarian or see the FAQ on finding full text:

What is ILL?

Interlibrary Loan (or ILL) is just what it sounds like: items are loaned between libraries.

ILL allows you to request items that you can't find in Library Catalog or our databases. We can almost always get you what you need - all you have to do is place an online request!

Our ILL system, ILLiad, allows you to track your requests, check due dates, renew items, etc. Check out the ILL FAQ for more information. 

--> Submit an ILL Request

Search for Journals
 


Use Google Scholar to search for articles that may not be in the library's databases. Google Scholar searches nearly all publisher websites. 

Note: If you find yourself being prompted to purchase an article, instead request the article through Interlibrary Loan (see instructions from the "Get Full Text of Articles" page.

Google Scholar Search