The creator and maintainer of a well-known blacklist of predatory publishers, Jeffrey Beall, tells the story of how the emergence of predatory publishers “were largely enabled and condoned by the open-access social movement, the scholarly publishing industry, and academic librarians.”
Bosch, S., & Henderson, K. (2017, April 19). New world, same model: Periodicals Price Survey 2017. Library Journal. Retrieved from http://lj.libraryjournal.com/2017/04/publishing/new-world-same-model-periodicals-price-survey-2017/
Cohen, P. N. (2017, November 17). Authority, openness, and the soft sciences [Blog post]. Retrieved from https://socopen.org/2017/11/17/authority-openness-and-the-soft-sciences/
McKenzie, L. (2017, July 31). Math journal editors quit for open access. Inside Higher Ed. Retrieved from https://www.insidehighered.com/news/2017/07/31/math-journal-editors-resign-start-rival-open-access-journal
Vogel, G. (2017, October 13). German researchers resign from Elsevier journals in push for nationwide open access. Science. Retrieved from http://www.sciencemag.org/news/ 2017/10/german-researchers-resign-elsevier-journals-push-nationwide-open-access
ElSabry, E. (2017). Who needs access to research? Exploring the societal impact of open access. Revue française des sciences de l’information et de la communication, 11. doi:10.4000/rfsic.3271
Pandita, R., & Ramesha, B. (2013). Global scenario of open access publishing: A decadal analysis of Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) 2003-2012. Journal Of Information Science Theory And Practice, 1(3), 47-59. doi:10.1633/JISTaP.2013.1.3.4
Scherlen, A., & Robinson, M. (2008). Open access to criminal justice scholarship: A matter of social justice. Journal of Criminal Justice Education, 19(1), 54-74. Available from https://www.researchgate.net/profile/ Allan_Scherlen/publication/248956990_Open_Access_to_Criminal_Justice_Scholarship_A_Matter_of_Social_Justice/links/553faaa70cf2320416eb4a8e.pdf
Warlick, S. E., & Vaughan, K. T. L. (2007). Factors influencing publication choice: Why faculty choose open access. Biomedical Digital Libraries, 4(1). doi:10.1186/1742-5581-4-1
Chan, L., Cuplinskas, D., Eisen, M., Friend, F., Genova, Y., Guédon, J.-C., … Velterop, J. (2002). Budapest Open Access Initiative. Retrieved from http://www.budapestopenaccessinitiative.org/read
“DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals” in all subjects. It indexes over 10,000 OA journals, encompassing about 2.6 million articles (as of October 2017).
Hosted by the School of Library and Information Science at Simmons College, this wiki covers basic facts about open access and compiles relevant lists and resources.
Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition. (2016). SPARC: Advancing open access, open data, open education. Retrieved from https://sparcopen.org/
SPARC is an advocacy organization for openness, and their website provides an introduction to open access, open education, and open data, as well as impact stories for each.
This book covers the motivation for open access, varieties of and policies for OA, issues of copyright and economics, and considers the place of OA in our future. Geisel Library has this book in print (Z286.O63 S83 2012) and in ProQuest Ebook Central.
Willinsky, J. (2006). The access principle: The case for open access to research and scholarship. Cambridge, MA: MIT Press. Available from http://hdl.handle.net/10150/106529
