Research Guides: FAH212 Art & Architecture of the Middle Ages: Find Articles

How to find the full article

In many cases, you will find the full-text of articles directly in the journal databases. Here are some tips for how to get the full-text in other situations:

In the databases, click to see if the full text is in another database or in Geisel Library's collection, or if you can request a copy via Interlibrary Loan

If WebBridge says the journal is in the library's collection, see our video tutorial for how to find it on the shelf

If you have an article's citation information in hand, search the journal's name in Journal Finder to see if the library has access to the year you need

Core Databases

Grove Art Online [OXFORD] This link opens in a new window
Core reference source for fine arts. Searchable images made available through Oxford's partnerships with museums, galleries, and arts organizations.
JSTOR [ITHAKA] This link opens in a new window
Core interdisciplinary research database. Full text access is limited to backfiles (generally on a 5 year rolling wall basis).
Use Interlibrary Loan to request access to current content.
**Library subscribes to JSTOR collections: I-VII, AAF pamphlets, Biological Sciences, and 43K+ monographic titles
All other titles can be accessed via Interlibrary Loan.
ProQuest Central [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Core interdisciplinary database, contains full-text journal articles, newspaper articles, dissertations, and business and industry profiles.
Academic Search Premier [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database is an excellent starting point for finding scholarly journal articles and popular magazine articles on a wide range of topics.
Oxford Reference [OXFORD] This link opens in a new window
Reference database that provides background information on a wide range of topics, particularly in the humanities.
230+ in-depth, specialized titles from Oxford University Presss award-winning Encyclopedias and Companions, and a selection of partner publishers scholarly works.
Project MUSE - College Edition This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and article citations from over 100 journals, with a particular strength in literature, fine arts, history, and the humanities.

Supplementary Databases (these will need ILL)

Art Index Retrospective [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Citation and index database for over half a century (1929 -1984) of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Core theology and religious studies database, provides indexing, abstracting, and full-text access to religious and theological scholarship in the form of journal articles, essays, and book reviews.
Combines the ATLA “Religion Database” with the former “Catholic Periodic & Literature Index” (CPLI), and adds the ATLA “Serials PLUS” resources of 460+ full-text journals in 16 languages from more than 33 different countries.

Produced by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA), providing monthly updates and select coverage extending back into the early 19th-century.

Includes content on sacred texts, world religions (including Buddhism, Catholicism, Christianity, Islam, and Judaism) and denominations, interfaith dialogue, contextual and systematic theology, religious studies, denominational history, missions and ecumenism, pastoral ministry, archaeology and antiquities, human culture and society, philosophy, and ethics.
BHA & RILA This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA). These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007.
The Getty Web site offers both basic and advanced search modules for BHA and RILA, and they can be searched easily by subject, artist, author, article or journal title, and other elements.

About RILA and BHA
RILA covers the years 1975–1989. It was produced at the Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute, and Michael Rinehart was the editor-in-chief. In 1982, Getty began to support RILA, and in 1990 the Getty began to collaborate with INIST-CNRS to produce the BHA, which was a merger of RILA and the Répertoire d'art et d'archéologie.

A list of journals cited in BHA (PDF, 27pp., 308 KB) can be downloaded. BHA includes articles from over 1,200 journals. The link above leads to a list of names and ISSNs of each of those journals. BHA includes all articles within the subject scope of BHA regardless of the subject focus of a particular journal. Thus, many of the journals on this list are covered partially, as only some of their articles are within BHA's scope.
International Medieval Bibliography | **ONE USER AT A TIME** This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly journals and conference proceedings in the interdisciplinary field of medieval studies.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance [UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO] This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographical information pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance.
The library subscribes to two databases:

Iter Bibliography comprises secondary source material pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books and journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for dissertation abstracts and essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).

Iter Italicum is the online edition of Paul Oskar Kristeller's six-volume set, the most comprehensive finding list available of previously uncatalogued or incompletely catalogued Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections all over the world.

Museum of Fine Arts Bulletin

Search the M Bulletin
Clink the link above to search the MFA's own journal publication about their collections from 1903-1983. This is a good place to start your research - the MFA has articles or blurbs about most of their pieces. Make sure to click the dropdown menu next to the search bar at the top of the page and select "In This Journal".

FAH212 Art & Architecture of the Middle Ages: Find Articles

How to find the full article

Core Databases

Supplementary Databases (these will need ILL)

Museum of Fine Arts Bulletin

Journal Finder