Journals - TH401 Seminar on Happiness and Virtue - Daly - Research Guides at Saint Anselm College

Search Tips

The following search tips are effective in searching the library databases.

Use Boolean Operators (AND, OR): "positive psychology" and (virtue or spirituality)
Use truncation symbols (usually an asterisk): immigrant* and education
Limit your search words to SUBJECT, TITLE, or ABSTRACT

Did You Know....

.....that you can search across multiple EBSCO databases at one time? Ask us how!

Interdisciplinary Databases

The following databases are interdisciplinary databases, meaning that they will contain journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from a number of different disciplines.

Academic Search Premier [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database is an excellent starting point for finding scholarly journal articles and popular magazine articles on a wide range of topics.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Core interdisciplinary research database. Full text access is limited to backfiles (generally on a 5 year rolling wall basis).
Use Interlibrary Loan to request access to current content.
**Library subscribes to JSTOR collections: I-VII, AAF pamphlets, Biological Sciences, and 43K+ monographic titles
All other titles can be accessed via Interlibrary Loan.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Core interdisciplinary database, contains full-text journal articles, newspaper articles, dissertations, and business and industry profiles.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Use to find scholarly publications, including peer-reviewed papers, books, journal articles, and government reports. Use this entry point to link Google Scholar search results to Geisel Library collections (look for the WebBridge link to access full text or to place an Interlibrary Loan request).

Subject-Specific Databases

The following databases are subject specific databases meaning that they will contain journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from specific discplines.

Communication & Mass Media Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Use CMMC to research the role that media plays in society.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Use Criminal Justice Abstracts to locate research on various aspects of criminology.
Education Research Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find articles related to education, including children's issues.
Philosopher's Index [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Use this database for philosophical articles.
PsycINFO [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Use PsycInfo if your research intersects with psychology.
SocINDEX with Full Text [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Core database in sociology offering full text journal articles plus citations for books and conference papers dealing with all aspects of sociological studies.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Use WPSA to research topics relating to political science including public and social policy on the domestic and international levels.

Current Events Databases

Start with the following databases and then, if you still need more information, consult our Current Events GeiselGuide.

ProQuest Newsstand

Newspaper Source