National Jukebox
Historical recordings from the Library of Congress.
At launch, the Jukebox includes more than 10,000 recordings made by the Victor Talking Machine Company between 1901 and 1925. Jukebox content will be increased regularly.
The Jim Cullum Riverwalk Jazz Collection
The Stanford University Archive of Recorded Sound began continuous web streaming of the Riverwalk Jazz programs consisting of more than 350 hours of historic radio broadcasts as of January 1, 2013. Using rich narrative, oral histories and interviews, clips of historic musical recordings, and live musical performances by the Jim Cullum Jazz Band, each radio show entertains and educates its listeners, promoting classic jazz music and an appreciation for its place in history.
States
“Bringing US music to the world” this site was created in partnership with WGBH Boston and focuses on bringing new and lesser-known repertoire to an international audience.
Digital Library of Appalachia-Music Division
The Appalachian College Association has created a database of over 2000 objects, including musical recordings, spoken recordings with transcripts, photographs, manuscripts, newspaper articles, and other historical matierials.
Global Music Archive
Vanderbilt University’s Blair School of Music has created this collection of African music.
Internet Archive Audio
This library contains over two hundred thousand free digital recordings ranging from alternative news programming, to Grateful Dead concerts, to Old Time Radio shows, to book and poetry readings, to original music uploaded by users.
NPR Music
National Public Radio presents news, videos, and audio of their best broadcasts
WGBH Open Vault
The home of WGBH Media Library and Archives. It provides online access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH. The ever-expanding site contains video, audio, images, searchable transcripts, and resource management tools, all of which are available for individual and classroom learning.
