Research Guides: Shakespeare Studies: Selected Websites

Select Digital Collections

Illustrated Shakespeare Collection
"This online collection of selected electronic facsimiles seeks to share with a wider audience meetings of book art and Shakespearean text, and suggests the variety of responses of visual and book artists to the stimulus of Shakespeare's words. This online collection, originally published in venues as distant as Philadelphia and Leipzig, includes images produced by an array of technologies available in the 19th and early 20th century."

Selected Websites

The following websites are a sampling of interesting Internet resources that may be useful in your studies. You may also want to conduct keyword searching in a search engine such as Google or Google Scholar, but be sure to look for indications that the website's information is authoritative, objective, and reliable.

Searching the Internet can yield a vast amount of information, but in terms of quality and reliability, your results may be uneven at best. The ease and speed with which individuals can publish information on the web, regardless of accuracy or quality makes it imperative that when doing research on the web you know how to evaluate the information you find. To learn more, see our guide on Evaluating Websites.

The Folger Shakespeare Library
Located in Washington, D.C., the Folger Library contains the largest collection of Shakespeare materials. In addition it also houses other rare Renaissance books, manuscripts, and works of art. The Folger also contains a digital image collection of high resolution images from a variety of library sources including books, theater memorabilia, costumes, manuscripts, and artwork.
The Horace Howard Furness Shakespeare Library
The Horace Howard Furness Shakespeare Library at the University of Pennsylvania includes primary and secondary sources that includes both texts and images that "illuminate the theater, literature, and the history of Shakespeare, Shakespearean texts, theatrical production, and criticism." Some of these resources have been scanned and can be accessed through their digital image collection.
Voice of the Shuttle (VoS)
This website provides a "structured and briefly annotated guide to online resources" in the humanities. It organizes online resources according to subjects such as cultural studies, literature (in English and other languages), literary theory, and media studies and presents resources in general and specific categories.
Literary Resources on the Net
A collection of links to websites organized by either time period or subject and primarily dealing with English and American literature.

More Websites

British Women Romantic Poets, 1789–1832
A collection of poetry written by women between 1789 and 1832, based on the Kohler Collection of English Poetry at the University of California-Davis. The scanned book pages are presented along with full text transcriptions.
Cambridge History of English and American Literature
An online version of the classic encyclopedia of English and American literature "derived from individual print editions of The Cambridge History of English Literature and The Cambridge History of American Literature, published between 1907 and 1921."
Albert and Shirley Small Special Collections Library
"The Albert and Shirley Small Special Collections Library holds more than 16 million objects including manuscripts, archival records, rare books, maps, broadsides, photographs, audio and video recordings and more.

Collections are particularly strong in American and British literature, the history of Virginia and the southeastern United States, the history and archives of the University of Virginia, sporting books and manuscripts, World War I, bibliography and book arts."
New Chaucer Society
This website features the Online Chaucer Bibliography which includes materials from the Annotated Chaucer Bibliography (published annually in Studies in the Age of Chaucer). If you locate relevant articles in this catalog, search for full-text materials in one of the Geisel Library databases.
Voice of the Shuttle (VoS)
This website provides a "structured and briefly annotated guide to online resources" in the humanities. It organizes online resources according to subjects such as cultural studies, literature (in English and other languages), literary theory, and media studies and presents resources in general and specific categories.
The Web Concordances
Online concordances on selected English poetry, including works by Percy Blythe Shelley, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, John Keats, William Blake, William Wordsworth, and Gerard Manley Hopkins.

Ask a Librarian!

Contact the Reference Desk

	Email askanselm@anselm.edu
	Chat
	Text (603) 556-8883
	Call (603) 641-7306
	Make an Appointment

Reference Desk Hours

Sunday	2PM - 10PM
Monday	11AM - 10PM
Tuesday	11AM - 10PM
Wednesday	11AM - 10PM
Thursday	11AM - 5PM
Friday	11AM - 3PM
Saturday	12PM - 5PM