Research Guides: Bible Subject Guide: Find Articles

Core Databases

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Core theology and religious studies database, provides indexing, abstracting, and full-text access to religious and theological scholarship in the form of journal articles, essays, and book reviews.
Combines the ATLA “Religion Database” with the former “Catholic Periodic & Literature Index” (CPLI), and adds the ATLA “Serials PLUS” resources of 460+ full-text journals in 16 languages from more than 33 different countries.

Produced by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA), providing monthly updates and select coverage extending back into the early 19th-century.

Includes content on sacred texts, world religions (including Buddhism, Catholicism, Christianity, Islam, and Judaism) and denominations, interfaith dialogue, contextual and systematic theology, religious studies, denominational history, missions and ecumenism, pastoral ministry, archaeology and antiquities, human culture and society, philosophy, and ethics.
Old Testament Abstracts [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, and book reviews related to Old Testament scholarship.
New Testament Abstracts [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Citations to journal articles, books, and book reviews related to New Testament scholarship.

Additional Databases

Religion Database [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Collection of online journals related to religious and theological studies, including titles published by religious organizations.
Religious and Theological Abstracts [WORKS BEST IN FIREFOX BROWSER] This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of articles appearing in scholarly religion and theology journals from around the world.
Project MUSE - College Edition This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and article citations from over 100 journals, with a particular strength in literature, fine arts, history, and the humanities.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Core interdisciplinary research database. Full text access is limited to backfiles (generally on a 5 year rolling wall basis).
Use Interlibrary Loan to request access to current content.
**Library subscribes to JSTOR collections: I-VII, AAF pamphlets, Biological Sciences, and 43K+ monographic titles
All other titles can be accessed via Interlibrary Loan.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographical information pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance.
The library subscribes to two databses:

Iter Bibliography comprises secondary source material pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books and journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for dissertation abstracts and essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).

Iter Italicum is the online edition of Paul Oskar Kristeller's six-volume set, the most comprehensive finding list available of previously uncatalogued or incompletely catalogued Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections all over the world.

Articles on Specific Bible Verses

Both Old Testament Abstracts and New Testament Abstracts databases allow you to search for scholarly articles on specific verses in the Bible.

Here's how:

1) From the search screen, click on Scriptures (at upper left)

2) Enter the book and chapter (e.g., Mark 9) into the search box and press Browse

3) Checkmark all the items that contain your verse, and click Search

Get Full-Text of Articles

If the full text of an article is not available in the database, here are tips for getting it elsewhere:

In the databases, click to see if the full text is:
- in another database,
- in Geisel Library's collection,
- or if you can request a copy via Interlibrary Loan.
Search the journal's name in Journal Finder to see if we have access to the year/volume/issue you need.
For more help, ask a librarian or see the FAQ on finding full text:

How do I get the full text of an article?

Journal for the Study of the Old Testament - sample articles

Journal for the Study of the New Testament - sample articles

Catholic Biblical Quarterly

Ask a Librarian

Contact the Reference Desk

	Email askanselm@anselm.edu
	Chat
	Text (603) 556-8883
	Call (603) 641-7306
	Make an Appointment