Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Homepage College Homepage
Research Guides

Theology: Find Books

Online Guide to best Theology resources

Search Library Catalog

Library Catalog

Use this box to search the Geisel Library catalog for books and other materials in the library collection.

Search ProQuest Ebook Central

Ebook Central

Search WorldCat

WorldCat

Use WorldCat to search the collections of libraries worldwide. If you find a book in this database that is not owned by Geisel Library, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan by clicking on the "Request via Interlibrary Loan" link in the book's catalog record.

Search ATLA Historical Monographs

ATLA Historical Monographs

This digital collection consists of 30,000 fulltext books related to religion and theology, with an emphasis on titles published during the early 1800's to 1922.  Contains series 1 & 2, published by the American Theological Library Association and EBSCO.

Common Theology Subject Terms

You may want to search by Subject in either Library Catalog or WorldCat to see the available books on a particular broadly-defined topic.  (Often a keyword search can lead you to discover subject descriptors that are effective for subject searching.)  Here are some suggested broad terms for Subject Searching in Theology: 

Agnosticism
Atheism
Bible
Catholic Church – Doctrines
Christian apologetics
Christian sects
Christianity
Christology
Church
Covenant theology
Creeds
Divine
Eschatology
Ethics
Death of god
Faith
Feminist theology
God
Goddesses
Gods
Heresy
Holiness
Jesus Christ
Jesus Christ, Person and offices
Liberation Theology
Metaphysics
Monasticism and religious orders
Moral theology
Mysticism
Natural theology
Philosophical theology
Process theology
Protestant
Protestantism
Providence and government of God
Reformation
Religions
Religious education
Sin
Soul
Spirituality
Theism
Theologians
Theology
Theology, Doctrinal
Theology, Practical
Trinity

Search "Religion and the Law"

"Religion and the Law" books

This HeinOnline database of 3000+ fulltext books (from 1500 to 2018) provides a research platform for the development, history, organization, and fundamental principles of various world religions. The collection includes the Christian Legal Society publications, an assortment of Canon Law, books, periodicals, bibliographies, and rare historical bibles.  Includes some serials/journals also (approx. 60).

Locating Theo Books by Call #

Most Theology books are located on the Main Level of the library in the following call number sections.  See the Geisel Library floor plan for these locations on Main Level between A-BX:

BL   Religions. Mythology. Rationalism
BM   Judaism
BP   Islam. Bahaism. Theosophy, etc.
BQ   Buddhism
BR   Christianity
BS   The Bible
BT   Doctrinal Theology
BV   Practical Theology
BX   Christian Denominations

 For further help, view this FAQ on finding books in the library.

Ask a Librarian

Contact the Geisel Library Reference Desk

email Email askanselm@anselm.edu
Chat Chat
smartphone Text (603) 556-8883
 phone Call (603) 641-7306
calendar Make an Appointment

Spring Reference Hours

We're here to respond during...
M-Tu: 10 a.m. - 10 p.m.
W-Th: 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
F: 10 a.m. - 3 p.m.
Sa: noon - 5 p.m.

Su: Closed