Databases - BI451W – Biology Internship, Writing Intensive - Research Guides at Saint Anselm College

Get Full-Text of Articles

If the full text of an article is not available in the database, here are tips for getting it elsewhere:

In the databases, click to see if the full text is:
- in another database,
- in Geisel Library's collection,
- or if you can request a copy via Interlibrary Loan.
Search the journal's name in Journal Finder to see if we have access to the year/volume/issue you need.
For more help, ask a librarian or see the FAQ on finding full text:

How do I get the full text of an article?

Core Article Databases

Biological Science Collection [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals spanning all aspects of the biological sciences. Merges Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE into one searchable database.
The database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources providing access to the extensive variety of biology’s cutting edge research, with applications to medicine, technology and the environment.
JSTOR [ITHAKA] This link opens in a new window
Core interdisciplinary research database. Full text access is limited to backfiles (generally on a 5 year rolling wall basis).
Use Interlibrary Loan to request access to current content.
**Library subscribes to JSTOR collections: I-VII, AAF pamphlets, Biological Sciences, and 43K+ monographic titles
All other titles can be accessed via Interlibrary Loan.
Science Database [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Contains approximately 1,000 full-text journals from the fields of biology, chemistry, physics, and the earth sciences.

Additional Databases

Science: Gale In Context [GALE] This link opens in a new window
Contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics.
The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
GreenFILE [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts from journal articles, government documents, and technical reports about environmental issues.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Free database of biomedical citations that includes the contents of Medline, plus additional material from life science and biochemistry journals. **Look for the WebBridge link to place an Interlibrary Loan request.
TOXLINE [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Citations scholarly journal articles in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens.
ScienceDirect - Health Sciences and Life Sciences Collections [ELSEVIER] This link opens in a new window
Collection includes full-text articles in top journals in the fields of agricultural and biological sciences, biochemistry, genetics, and molecular biology, environmental science, immunology and microbiology, neuroscience, medicine and dentistry, nursing and health, pharmacology, toxicology and pharmaceutical science, and veterinary science and veterinary medicine.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Use to find scholarly publications, including peer-reviewed papers, books, journal articles, and government reports. Use this entry point to link Google Scholar search results to Geisel Library collections (look for the WebBridge link to access full text or to place an Interlibrary Loan request).
Academic Search Premier [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database is an excellent starting point for finding scholarly journal articles and popular magazine articles on a wide range of topics.
USDA National Agricultural Library (NAL) This link opens in a new window
Database from the U.S. Department of Agriculture, covering agriculture as well as the life sciences.
Agriculture: Gale OneFile [GALE] This link opens in a new window
Provides access to current and authoritative content that spans the agricultural industry -- from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Overviews of the latest primary research in biology, psychology, sociology, and the physical sciences.
**Library has recent full text access to 14 Annual Reviews and to the back files of over 30 Annual Review titles. Look for the checkmark to see which Annual Reviews are a part of the subscription.
Front file full text access to 14 Annual Reviews: Astronomy and Astrophysics; Biochemistry; Cell and Developmental Biology; Earth and Planetary Sciences; Econology, Evolution, and Systematics; Environment and Resources; Genetics; Microbiology; Neuroscience; Nuclear and Particle Science; Physical Chemistry; Phytopathology; Plant Biology; Sociology.
Bioline International This link opens in a new window
Not-for-profit scholarly publishing cooperative committed to providing open access to quality research journals published in developing countries.
Environmental Studies and Policy: Gale OneFile [GALE] This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference sources covering environmental issues and policies. The database includes diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from several hundred scholarly medical journals, with an emphasis on nursing and allied health.
MEDLINE via EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Core resource for high-level articles from journals related to medicine, dentistry, and the health care.
SciFinder-n [CAS] This link opens in a new window
The latest scientific information solution from CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in CAS SciFinder®, CAS SciFinder-n includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more.
SORA (Searchable Ornithological Research Archive) This link opens in a new window
Access to an extensive library of ornithological literature of international scope, and detailed material documenting the history of ornithology in North America over the last 120 years.

Ask a Librarian!

Contact the Reference Desk

	Email askanselm@anselm.edu
	Chat
	Text (603) 556-8883
	Call (603) 641-7306
	Make an Appointment

Reference Desk Hours

Sunday	CLOSED
Monday	8:30AM - 4:30PM
Tuesday	8:30AM - 4:30PM
Wednesday	8:30AM - 4:30PM
Thursday	8:30AM - 4:30PM
Friday	8:30AM - 4:30PM
Saturday	CLOSED

FAQs

How to Read a Scientific Article

See the following resources for tips on reading a scientific article:

How to Read a Scientific Paper
An overview of the types of scientific papers, the parts of a scientific paper, and how to read one.
How to (seriously) read a scientific paper
Perspectives from scientists on how they approach reading scientific papers.
How to Read Scientific Papers Infographic
From Research4Life

BI451W – Biology Internship, Writing Intensive: Databases

Get Full-Text of Articles

Core Article Databases

Additional Databases

Ask a Librarian!

Contact the Reference Desk

Reference Desk Hours

FAQs

How to Read a Scientific Article